Baylor College of Medicine


Jay Brown, Dr. Antonio Falcon appointed to Board of Trustees

Lori Williams


Houston, TX -

Jay A. Brown and Dr. Antonio Falcon were appointed to the Baylor College of Medicine Board of Trustees at its recent meeting.

“We welcome Mr. Brown and Dr. Falcon as our new trustees. They have both made significant contributions to their fields and to the community, and they both will be important additions to the Board of Trustees,” said Dr. Paul Klotman, president, CEO and executive dean of Baylor.

Jay Brown has served since 2016 as president and chief executive officer of Crown Castle, a provider of communications infrastructure and a leader in deploying 5G technology. He served as Crown Castle’s chief financial officer from 2008 to 2016 and as treasurer prior to that. He has been with the company since 1999 in a number of positions in corporate development and finance. Under his leadership, Crown Castle launched an initiative called Connected By Good, which seeks to improve public spaces like parks where people connect with one another, promote public safety, and advance access to education. Before joining Crown Castle, Brown worked for a start-up healthcare company and Arthur Anderson LLP. He holds a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Baylor University. Brown received the Baylor University Young Alumnus Award in 2012-13 and currently serves on the university’s Board of Regents.

Dr. Antonio “Tony” Falcon is a family medicine specialist in Rio Grande City with more than 44 years of experience in healthcare. He attended Baylor University and then earned his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine before completing a family medicine residency in Waco. After completing his training, he returned to the Rio Grande Valley, where he grew up. Falcon is affiliated with Doctors Hospital Renaissance and Starr County Memorial Hospital. He was a presidential appointee to the United States-Mexico Border Health Commission, served on the Texas Health and Human Services Council and has mentored medical students through the Texas Statewide Family Medicine Preceptorship Program. Falcon was named the Family Physician of the Year by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians in 2015.

“I would like to thank the Baylor College of Medicine Board of Trustees for giving me the opportunity to serve in this capacity. I look forward to participating in expanding Baylor’s vision of excellence in medical education and community service," Falcon said.

Also at the meeting, David C. Baldwin was elected chair of the Board of Trustees for his final two-year term, Larry P. Heard was elected vice chair and Board secretary, and Gregory D. Brenneman and William E. Mearse were elected vice chairs.

Back to topback-to-top