Department of Surgery

Surgical Education Office

Master
Content

The Surgery Education Office provides support for the students, residents and faculty in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery Education Programs. The main telephone number is (713) 798-6078 and the fax number is (713) 798-8941.

Heading

Faculty Contacts

Content

Chair Todd K. Rosengart, M.D.
(713) 798-1317

Vice Chair for Education Bradford G. Scott, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
bgscott@bcm.edu

Vice Chair for Research Scott A. LeMaire, M.D.
(832) 355-9942
slemaire@bcm.edu

Heading

Residency Programs

Content

Congenital Cardiac Surgery Residency Program Director Christopher Caldarone, M.D.
(832) 826-1929
cacaldar@texaschildrens.org

General Surgery Residency Program Director Ronald T. Cotton, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
ronaldc@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Associate Program Director Eric J. Silberfein, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
ejs@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Associate Program Director Neal R. Barshes, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
nbarshes@bcm.edu

Director of General Surgery Residency Program - Research Track Sanjeev Vasudevan, M.D.
(832) 822-4381
savasude@texaschildrens.org

General Surgery Residency Program Associate Program Director R. Mario Vera, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
rmvera@bcm.edu

SIM Assistant Director for GME Natasha Hansraj, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
Natasha.hansraj@bcm.edu

SIM Assistant Director for UME Marcus Hoffman, M.D.
((713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
Marcus.hoffman@bcm.edu

Director of General Surgery Residency Program – Global Track Jed G. Nuchtern, M.D.
(832) 824-3135
nuchtern@bcm.edu

Liver Transplant Surgery Fellowship Directors John Goss, M.D. and Christine O’Mahony, M.D.
(832) 355-1400
jgoss@bcm.edu and comahony@bcm.edu

Pediatric Surgery Residency Program Director Mark Mazziotti, M.D.
(832) 822-3135
mazziott@bcm.edu

Plastic Surgery Residency Program Director Renata Maricevich, M.D.
(832) 822-3000
renata.maricevich@bcm.edu

Surgery Critical Care Residency Program Director Jeremy Ward, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
jeremy.ward@bcm.edu

Vascular Surgery Integrated Residency Program Director Joseph L. Mills, Sr. M.D.
(713) 798-8831
joseph.mills@bcm.edu

Vascular Surgery Integrated Residency Program Associate Program Director Neal R. Barshes, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 794-7862
neal.barshes@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Program Director Joseph Coselli, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
jcoselli@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Associate Program Director Ravi Ghanta, M.D.
(713) 873-3435
ravi.ghanta@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Associate Program Director Shawn Groth, M.D.
(713) 798-6281
shawn.groth@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Assistant Program Director Ourania Preventza, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
preventz@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Assistant Program Director Alexander Schutz, M.D.
(832) 355-9930
alexander.schutz@bcm.edu

Heading

Fellowship Programs

Content

(TMB approved /non-ACGME programs)

Aortic Surgery Fellowship Program Director Joseph Coselli, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
jcoselli@bcm.edu

Cardiac Transplant Fellowship Program Director Kenneth Liao, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Cardiovascular Surgery Fellowship Program Director Charles Hallman, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

General Thoracic Surgery Fellowship Program Director Bryan Burt, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)

Minimally Invasive Cardiac Fellowship Program Director Kenneth Liao, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Heading

UME Medical Student Programs

Content

Core Medical Student Faculty Director Yesenia Rojas-Khalil, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
yesenia.rojas-khalil@bcm.edu

Associate Director for Core Medical Students Cary Hsu, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
cary.hsu@bcm.edu

Associate Director for Core Medical Students Zachary Pallister, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
zachary.pallister@bcm.edu

Director for Sub-Internship Stacey Carter, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
stacey.carter@bcm.edu

Director for Electives Kristy Rialon, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)

Heading

Undergraduate Student Program

Content

DeBakey Summer Student Program N. Thao N. Galvan, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
medstudentprogram@bcm.edu

Heading

Education Administrative Team

Content

The Surgery Education Office provides support for the students, residents, and faculty of the departmental education programs. The main telephone number is (713) 798-6078 and the fax number is (713) 798-8941.

Holly Shilstone
Director for Education and Alumni Affairs
(713) 798-6190
holly.shilstone@bcm.edu

Sabrina Bernhard
Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Summer DeBakey Program, UME Sub-Internship & Electives, Assistant to General Surgery Residency Program
(713) 798-4801
sabrina.bernhard@bcm.edu

Jaye Chambers 
Supervisor for Graduate Medical Education Programs
General Surgery Residency Program
(713) 798-8929
jaye.chambers@bcm.edu

Morgan Fields 
Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Plastic Surgery Residency Program, Pediatric Plastic Surgery Fellowship and UME Sub Internship/Electives for Plastics)
(713) 798-2309
morgan.fields@bcm.edu

Maelene Phillips
Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Vascular Surgery, Pediatric Surgery and Surgical Critical Care Residency Programs
(713) 798-5302
maelene.phillips@bcm.edu

Amy Silva 
Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Thoracic Surgery Residency Programs, and Division of Thoracic Surgery Fellowships
(713) 798-6417
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Alice Sims
Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Surgery Core Clerkship, UME program
(713) 798-4768
alice.sims@bcm.edu

 

Heading

Find a Mentor

Content

Find a faculty mentor with similar research interests.

Learn more
Media Component
Heading

Training Verifications

Content

See the department’s policy for Verification of Training.

Download policy