Department of Surgery

Surgical Education Office

Master
Content

The Surgery Education Office provides support for the students, residents and faculty in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery Education Programs. The main telephone number is (713) 798-6078 and the fax number is (713) 798-8941.

Heading

Faculty Contacts

Content

Chair
Todd K. Rosengart, M.D.
(713) 798-1317

Vice Chair for Education
Bradford G. Scott, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
bgscott@bcm.edu

Vice Chair for Research
Scott A. LeMaire, M.D.
(832) 355-9942
slemaire@bcm.edu

Heading

Residency and Fellowship Programs

Content

Program Director, Congenital Cardiac Surgery Residency 
Christopher Caldarone, M.D.
(832) 826-1929
cacaldar@texaschildrens.org

Program Director, General Surgery Residency
Ronald T. Cotton, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
ronaldc@bcm.edu

Associate Program Director, General Surgery Residency - Professional Development 
Eric J. Silberfein, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
ejs@bcm.edu

Associate Program Director, General Surgery Residency - Curriculum
Stacy Carter, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
stacy.carter@bcm.edu

Associate Program Director, General Surgery Residency - Curriculum
Catherine Seger, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
catherine.seger@bcm.edu

Program Director, General Surgery Residency - Research Track 
Sanjeev Vasudevan, M.D.
(832) 822-4381
savasude@texaschildrens.org

Program Director, General Surgery Residency - Mentorship
Samer Mattar, M.D.
713-798-6078 (Ed office)
samer.mattar@bcm.edu 

Associate Program Director, General Surgery Residency - SIM 
R. Mario Vera, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
rmvera@bcm.edu

Assistant Program Director, GME - SIM
Natasha Hansraj, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
Natasha.hansraj@bcm.edu

Assistant Program Director, UME - SIM
Marcus Hoffman, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
Marcus.hoffman@bcm.edu

Program Director, General Surgery Residency - Global Track
Rachel W. Davis, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
rachelwdavis@bcm.edu 

Program Directors, Liver Transplant Surgery Fellowship
John Goss, M.D. and Ronald T. Cotton, M.D.
(832) 355-1400
jgoss@bcm.edu and ronaldc@bcm.edu  

Program Director, Pediatric Surgery Fellowship
Mark Mazziotti, M.D.
(832) 822-3135
mazziott@bcm.edu

Program Director, Plastic Surgery Integrated Residency
Renata Maricevich, M.D.
(832) 822-3000
renata.maricevich@bcm.edu

Program Director, Surgical Critical Care Fellowship
Jeremy Ward, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
jeremy.ward@bcm.edu

Program Director, Vascular Surgery Integrated Residency
Joseph L. Mills, Sr. M.D.
(713) 798-8831
joseph.mills@bcm.edu

Associate Program Director, Vascular Surgery Independent Fellowship and Vascular Surgery Integrated Residency 
Neal R. Barshes, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 794-7862
neal.barshes@bcm.edu

Program Director, Thoracic Surgery Independent Fellowship 
Joseph Coselli, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
jcoselli@bcm.edu

Program Director, Thoracic Surgery Integrated Residency
Associate Program Director, Thoracic Surgery Independent Fellowship  

Ravi Ghanta, M.D.
(713) 873-3435
ravi.ghanta@bcm.edu

Associate Program Director, Thoracic Surgery Integrated Residency and Independent Fellowship  
Shawn Groth, M.D.
(713) 798-6281
shawn.groth@bcm.edu

Assistant Program Director, Thoracic Surgery Integrated Residency and Independent Fellowship 
Ourania Preventza, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
preventz@bcm.edu

Assistant Program Director, Thoracic Surgery Integrated Residency and Independent Fellowship 
Alexander Schutz, M.D.
(832) 355-9930
alexander.schutz@bcm.edu

Heading

Fellowship Programs

Content

(TMB approved /non-ACGME programs)

Program Director, Aortic Surgery Fellowship
Joseph Coselli, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
jcoselli@bcm.edu

Program Director, Cardiac Transplant Fellowship
Kenneth Liao, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Program Director, Cardiovascular Surgery Fellowship 
Charles Hallman, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Program Director, General Thoracic Surgery Fellowship
Bryan Burt, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)

Program Director, Minimally Invasive Cardiac Fellowship
Kenneth Liao, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Heading

UME Medical Student Programs

Content

Faculty Director, Core Medical Student
Yesenia Rojas-Khalil, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
yesenia.rojas-khalil@bcm.edu

Associate Director, Core Medical Students
Cary Hsu, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
cary.hsu@bcm.edu

Associate Director, Core Medical Students
Zachary Pallister, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
zachary.pallister@bcm.edu

Director, Sub-Internship
Stacey Carter, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
stacey.carter@bcm.edu

Director, Electives
Kristy Rialon, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)

Director, Plastic Surgery Electives
Jessica Z. Yu, M.D .
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
jessica.yu@bcm.edu

Heading

Undergraduate Student Program

Content

Program Director, DeBakey Summer Student Program
N. Thao N. Galvan, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
medstudentprogram@bcm.edu

Heading

Education Administrative Team

Content

The Surgery Education Office provides support for the students, residents, and faculty of the departmental education programs. The main telephone number is (713) 798-6078 and the fax number is (713) 798-8941.

Director for Education and Alumni Affairs
Holly Shilstone
(713) 798-6190
holly.shilstone@bcm.edu

Supervisor for Graduate Medical Education Programs
General Surgery Residency Program

Jaye Chambers 
(713) 798-8929
jaye.chambers@bcm.edu

Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Plastic Surgery Residency Program, Pediatric Plastic Surgery Fellowship and UME Sub Internship/Electives for Plastics)

Morgan Fields 
(713) 798-2309
morgan.fields@bcm.edu

Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Summer DeBakey Program, UME Sub-Internship & Electives, Assistant to General Surgery Residency Program

Sabrina Bernhard
(713) 798-4801
sabrina.bernhard@bcm.edu

Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Vascular Surgery, Pediatric Surgery and Surgical Critical Care Residency and Fellowship Programs

Kristen Woods
(713) 798-5302
kristen.woods@bcm.edu

Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Thoracic Surgery Residency  and Fellowship Programs, and Division of Thoracic Surgery Fellowships

Amy Silva 
(713) 798-6417
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Senior Coordinator, Program Management
Surgery Core Clerkship, UME program

(713) 798-4768
gsprograms@bcm.edu

 

Heading

Find a Mentor

Content

Find a faculty mentor with similar research interests.

Learn more
Media Component
Heading

Training Verifications

Content

View the department’s policy for Verification of Training.

Download policy