!

COVID-19 Response 

Access our COVID-19 Response homepage, with more information and resources during the COVID-19 pandemic, including what to do if you’re experiencing symptoms.

Weather Update

Baylor’s Emergency Response Team continues to monitor tropical storm Beta. Baylor and its clinics will be open under normal business operations. Be sure to pay close attention to weather forecasts and road conditions in your area. View message. 

Department of Surgery

Surgical Education Office

Master
Content

The Surgery Education Office provides support for the students, residents and faculty in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery Education Programs. The main telephone number is (713) 798-6078 and the fax number is (713) 798-8941.

Heading

Faculty Contacts

Content

Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery
Educational Faculty and Administrative Team Members
Listed by Residency/Fellowship Programs, Medical Student Programs, and Undergraduate Programs

Faculty:
Chair Todd K. Rosengart, M.D.
(713) 798-1317

Vice Chair for Education Bradford G. Scott, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
bgscott@bcm.edu

Vice Chair for Research Scott A. LeMaire, M.D.
(
832) 355-9942
slemaire@bcm.edu

Residency Programs:
Congenital Cardiac Surgery Residency Program Director Dean McKenzie, M.D.

(832) 826-1929
dean.mckenzie@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Director Stephanie Gordy, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
stephanie.gordy@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Associate Program Director Eric J. Silberfein, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
ejs@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Associate Program Director Neal R. Barshes, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
nbarshes@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Associate Program Director Mario Vera, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
rmvera@bcm.edu

Director of General Surgery Residency Program - Research Track Nader Massarweh, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 794-8017
nader.massarweh@bcm.edu

Director of General Surgery Residency Program – Global Track Jed G. Nuchtern, M.D.
(832) 824-3135
nuchtern@bcm.edu

Liver Transplant Fellowship Directors John Goss, M.D. and Christine O’Mahony, M.D.
(832) 355-1400
jgoss@bcm.edu and comahony@bcm.edu

Pediatric Surgery Residency Program Director Mark Mazziotti, M.D.
(832) 822-3135
mazziott@bcm.edu

Plastic Surgery Residency Program Director Renata Maricevich, M.D.
(832) 822-3000
renata.maricevich@bcm.edu

Surgery Critical Care Program Director Jeremy Ward, M.D.
(713) 798-6078
jeremy.ward@bcm.edu

Vascular Surgery/Integrated Vascular Surgery Residency
Program Director
Joseph L. Mills, Sr. M.D.
(713) 798-8831
joseph.mills@bcm.edu

Vascular Surgery Integrated Vascular Surgery Residency Program
Associate Program Director
Neal R. Barshes, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 794-7862
neal.barshes@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Program Director Joseph Coselli, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
jcoselli@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Associate Program Director Shawn Groth, M.D.
(713) 798-6281
shawn.groth@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Associate Program Director Ravi Ghanta, M.D.
(713) 873-3435
ravi.ghanta@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Assistant Program Director Ourania Preventza, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
preventz@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Assistant Program Director Alex Schutz, M.D.
(832) 355-9930
alexander.schutz@bcm.edu

Fellowship Programs (TMB approved /non-ACGME programs):
Aortic Surgery Fellowship Program Director
Joseph Coselli, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
jcoselli@bcm.edu

Cardiac Transplant Fellowship Program Director Kenneth Liao, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Cardiocvascular Surgery Fellowship Program Director Charles Hallman, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

General Thoracic Surgery Fellowship Program Director – Bryan Burt, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)

Minimally Invasive Cardiac Fellowship Program Director Kenneth Liao, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
amy.silva@bcm.edu

UME Medical Student Programs
Core Medical Student Faculty Director
Ronald Cotton, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
ronaldc@bcm.edu

Associate Director for Core Medical Students Cary Hsu, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
cary.hsu@bcm.edu

Associate Director for Core Medical Students Zachary Pallister, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
zachary.pallister@bcm.edu

Director for Sub-Internship Stacey Carter, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
stacey.carter@bcm.edu

Director for Electives Yesenia Rojas-Khalil, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
yesenia.rojas-khalil@bcm.edu

Undergraduate Student Program:
DeBakey Summer Student Program Thao Galvan, MPH, M.D.
(713) 798-6078
medstudentprogram@bcm.edu

Heading

Education Administrative Team

Content

The Surgery Education Office provides support for the students, residents, and faculty of the departmental education programs. The main telephone number is (713) 798-6078 and the fax number is (713) 798-8941.

Director for Education and Alumni Affairs
Holly Shilstone

(713) 798-6190
holly.shilstone@bcm.edu

Academic Coordinators
Vascular Surgery, Pediatric Surgery and Surgical Critical Care
(713) 798-5302
gsprograms@bcm.edu

Jaye Chambers (General Surgery)
(713) 798-8929
jaye.chambers@bcm.edu

Amy Silva (Thoracic Surgery Residency Program, and Division of Thoracic Surgery Fellowships)
(713) 798-6417
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Woods McCormack (UME Surgery Clerkship)
(713) 798-4163
woods.mccormack@bcm.edu

Morgan Fields (Plastic Surgery Residency Program, Pediatric Plastic Surgery Fellowship and UME Sub Internship/Electives for Plastics)
(713) 798-2309
morgan.fields@bcm.edu

Summer DeBakey Program, UME Sub-Internship & Electives, Assistant to General Surgery Residency Program
(713) 798-4733
gsprograms@bcm.edu

Heading

Find a Mentor

Content

Find a faculty mentor with similar research interests.

Learn more
Media Component
Heading

Training Verifications

Content

See the department’s policy for Verification of Training.

Download policy