Department of Surgery

Surgery Alumni

Media Component

DeBakey Surgeon Updates - Alumni in the News


2023 Research Day and Surgical Society Alumni Symposium

Item Definition

Conference a Perfect Blend of the Past and the Future of Surgery
In 2023 our 11th Annual Research Day was combined with the Michael E. DeBakey Surgical Society Alumni Symposium. The event was held on June 9 and 10 and featured sessions highlighting the clinical, educational and research accomplishments of the department and its alumni both nationally and internationally. 

Dr. John P. Williams Class of 1997

Item Definition

As a breast cancer surgeon in Virginia, Dr. John P. Williams dedicates his professional career to advancing quality cancer care in his community. On a national level, he advises the President of the United States regarding the National Cancer Program serving as chairman of the President’s Cancer Panel. He credits Dr. Michael E. DeBakey and his many associates in the Department of Surgery for their guidance in finding a larger personal mission beyond excellent clinical care of patients.

Nestor Arita, M.D. Joins West Tennessee Medical Group

Item Definition

West Tennessee Healthcare recently welcomed Nestor Arita, M.D., vascular surgeon, to West Tennessee and his new medical practice at West Tennessee Medical Group –Jackson Surgical Associates. 


Item Term
Dr. Silberfein ’08 Earns 2021 Young Alumnus Award

Item Definition

Baylor College of Medicine honored outstanding alumni and faculty at the 2021 Alumni Awards Ceremony, held virtually April 14. The awards recognize career accomplishments in outstanding patient care, innovative research and excellence in teaching.

Bayonet Point welcomes new Trauma Medical Director Dr. Erika van Doorn

Item Definition

Regional Medical Center Bayonet Point announced the appointment of Dr. Erika van Doorn as the trauma medical director for the hospital’s Level II Trauma Center, the only Level II Trauma program in Pasco, Hernando and Citrus counties. Dr. van Doorn completed her General Surgery Residency and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at Baylor College of Medicine.

Surgery Icons Honored by Alumni Association

Item Definition

Dr. George P. Noon ’60, won the Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding service to Baylor College of Medicine and the Baylor College of Medicine Alumni Association.

Dr. Kenneth L. Mattox '64, was given the Lifetime Achievement Award presented to alumni whose lifelong pursuits have achieved the zenith of accomplishment and who serve as an inspiration to others.

Dr. Scully Selected for Hecht-Levi Fellowship in Bioethics

Item Definition

Brandi Braud-Scully, M.D., M.S. has recently been granted a two-year post-doctoral Hecht-Levi Fellowship in bioethics at the Johns Hopkins University Berman Institute of Bioethics. This fellowship is designed to foster the next generation of bioethics scholars, granting protected time for research and publication. Hecht-Levi Fellows have the opportunity to pursue subjects of personal interest related to bioethics, and work in both mentored and collaborative relationships.

Our First 'Mission Abroad' Returns from Tanzania

Item Definition

Department faculty members and residents had an extraordinary experience in the Sengerema Designated District Hospital in Tanzania. The team traveled to this rural area hospital to provide specialized surgical care to patients and to train local assistant medical officers under conditions that are dramatically different from what they have experienced at Baylor College of Medicine.

MD Monthly Showcases Work of Dr. Lyssa Ochoa

Item Definition

The September 2018 issue of MD Monthly showcases Baylor alumna Dr. Lyssa Ochoa, who was honored with the Mission Trail Baptist Hospital's WB Russ Excellence in Medicine Award for her community efforts including the SAVE Clinic. The San Antonio Vascular and Endovascular Clinic serves the need for compassionate and advanced vascular care to the growing population of diabetics residing in this historically underserved area.

Dr. Joseph Coselli Awarded for Distinguished Service

Item Definition

Baylor College of Medicine’s Alumni Association honored Dr. Joseph S. Coselli with the Distinguished Service Award. Coselli is vice chair of the Department of Surgery and chief of the division of cardiothoracic surgery. He was honored May 3, 2018 at the Alumni Association Award and Recognition Dinner, which was held at the Four Seasons Hotel in Houston.

BCM Graduate Starts Speratum CR to Bring his Discovery to Cancer Patients

Item Definition

Dr. Christian Marín-Muller’s grandmother died of cancer before he was born. It saddens him that he never had the chance to meet her, but thanks to her he knew from an early age what he wanted to be when he grew up. He would become a scientist and find a way to fight cancer so nobody else would have to lose a grandma.

Hurricane Harvey Forces Alumnus to Perform Hospital's First-Ever Brain Surgery

Item Definition

Dr. Erik Askenasy (BCM Class of 2014), surgeon on-call and a member of LBJ's ride-out team, knew the patient’s life was at stake after the patient’s CT scan revealed significant bleeding in the space between the skull and brain, and in one of the brain’s lobes.

WVU Names Director of Institute for Critical Care and Trauma

Item Definition

Alison Wilson, M.D., (General Surgery Residency class of 2001 and Surgical Critical Care Residency class of 2002), has been named the director of West Virginia University’s Institute for Critical Care and Trauma.

Item Definition

The Plastic Surgery Foundation and the American Association of Plastic Surgeons created a living history of plastic surgery. Thomas Biggs, M.D. and Melvin Spira, M.D., D.D.S. were the only Texans in the group.

Dr. Schwaitzberg Receives Harvard Promotion

Item Definition

Alumnus Dr. Steven D. Schwaitzberg (M.D. ’80, General Surgery Residency ’86) was promoted to professor of surgery at Harvard Medical School.


Alumni Symposium and 20th Congress of the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society

Media Component
At the Alumni Symposium & 20th Congress of the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society, former Vice President Dick Cheney (right) gets a tour from Dr. Todd K. Rosengart and Dr. Kenneth L. Mattox.

Celebrating 60 years of excellence in resident education

The Department of Surgery hosted the Alumni Symposium an 20th Congress of the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society that took place at Baylor College of Medicine May 2014.

The event, a first for the Department of Surgery, was a great success. Over 400 attendees, six educational sponsors and 14 exhibitors; the event is considered the largest congregation of alumni in many years and one of the best-attended meetings of the society.

It was a professional and a social event that allowed for seamless exchange of information, an opportunity to meet some of the greatest surgeons in the world, and an occasion to hear the testimony of one of the most prominent national figures who has benefited from ground-breaking cardiothoracic surgical advances made at Baylor College of Medicine.