Department of Surgery

DeBakey Surgical Award

Media Component

Each biennial meeting year since 1978, the Awards Committee of the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society has selected a DeBakey Surgeon to receive the DeBakey Surgical Award.

This is a singular honor bestowed only on the world’s most outstanding surgeons for their significant contributions to surgery.

DeBakey Surgical Award Recipients

2020: Charles H. McCollum, M.D.
2018: Joseph Coselli, M.D.
2014: Kenneth L. Mattox, M.D.
2008: George P. Noon, MD   
2004: Norman M. Rich, M.D.    
2000: John O. Ochsner, M.D.    
1998: F. William Blaisdell, M.D.
1996: Frank C. Spencer, M.D.    
1994: C. Rollins Hanlon, M.D.
1992: Henry Bahnson, M.D.    
1990: E. Stanley Crawford, M.D.
1988: John Kirklin, M.D.    
1986: Norman Shumway, M.D.
1984: David Sabiston, M.D.    
1982: Frank Gerbode, M.D.
1980: Alton Ochsner, M.D.    
1978: Charles Dubost, M.D.