A Voice for Faculty

The Baylor College of Medicine Faculty Senate is the primary venue for faculty participation in shared governance and planning at the College.

Senate responsibilities include:

  • Making recommendations to College administration on issues deemed to be important to the faculty
  • Developing, evaluating and endorsing petitions, recommendations or resolutions from the faculty or others concerning faculty issues
  • Appointing members to the College’s Institutional Policy Committee
  • Nominating faculty to serve on senate and College committees

Education, faculty affairs and benefits, strategic planning, communications and public affairs, elections and administrative operations are the subjects of the senate's standing committees.

Faculty Senate Officers

Six elected officers lead the Faculty Senate: the chair, chair-elect, secretary, past chair, and basic sciences and clinical sciences representatives, who each serve two-year terms. The officers also are members of Baylor’s Academic Council, which includes department chairs, center directors and deans.

Dr. Manisha Gandhi

Clinical sciences representative

Dr. Kim Worley

Basic sciences representative

Ex-officio officers: the College’s president, provost, the deans of each of the four schools and the past chair. Baylor’s general counsel serves as advisor to the senate.