Annual CVRI Symposium


Tenth Annual CVRI Symposium - 2023

Media Component
Jeffrey Molkentin
Keynote Speaker: Jeffery D. Molkentin, Ph.D.

The Cardiovascular Research Institute at Baylor College of Medicine recently hosted it's 10th Annual Symposium. 

The event featured two distinguished keynote lecturers at the symposium. Jeffery Molkentin, Ph.D., director of the Division of Molecular Cardiovascular Biology; executive co-director of the Heart Institute and professor of pediatrics at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center spoke on “Adult stem cells do not regenerate the damaged heart; they mildly rejuvenate it thru inflammation”.

Media Component
Dianna M. Milewicz, M.D., Ph.D.
Keynote Speaker: Dianna M. Milewicz, M.D., Ph.D.

Dianna Milewicz, M.D., Ph.D.; professor and George H.W. Bush Chair of Cardiovascular Medicine; director of the Division of Medical Genetics and vice-chair of internal medicine at McGovern Medical School at the University of Texas Health Science Center who will speak on “Molecular mechanisms for the vascular disease pleiotropy associated with pathogenic variants in smooth muscle α-actin (ACTA2)”.

The day was filled with scientific lectures from eight invited speakers and also featured two poster sessions. The CVRI was able to highlight over 70 abstracts and awarded five "Best Poster Awards" to basic science and clinical trainees, and junior faculty. In addition, two faculty received the Dr. Mark L. Entman Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Education. 


Dr. Mark L. Entman Awards for Excellence in Cardiovascular Education

Dr. Mark L. Entman Teaching Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Education
Ying H. Shen, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Surgery

Dr. Mark L. Entman Service Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Education
George Taffet, M.D.
Professor and Robert J. Luchi, M.D. Chair 
Department of Medicine 

Best Poster Award 

Bing Xie, B.S.
Mentor: James F. Martin, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Integrative Physiology
Title: "YAP Mediates Cardiac Proliferation in TEAD-independent Mechanisms"

Kyle Blackburn, B.S.
Mentors: Scott LeMaire, M.D.; Marc Moon, M.D.; Joseph Coselli, M.D.
Department of Surgery
Title: "Outcomes of Thoracoabdominal Aortic Aneurysm Repair in Patients with a Prior Myocardial Infarction"

Postdoctoral Associate
Rich Li, Ph.D.
Mentor: James F. Martin, M.D., Ph.D.
McGill Gene Editing Lab, Texas Heart Institute
Title: "YAP Induces a Neonatal Like Pro-Renewal Niche in the Adult Heart"

Clinical Fellow
Heba El Ayash, M.D.
Mentor: Fida Bacha, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics
Title: "Incretins and cardiac autonomic function in youth with obesity across the glycemia spectrum"

Junior Faculty
Sriram Ayyaswamy, Ph.D.
Mentor: David Durgan, Ph.D.
Department of Anesthesiology
Title: "Obstructive Sleep Apnea-Induced Hypertension is Associated with Increased Gut and Neuroinflammation"

Details regarding the Eleventh Annual Symposium are forthcoming.