About Us

The residency training program of The Joseph Barnhart Department of Orthopedic Surgery offers residents comprehensive exposure to all aspects of orthopedic surgery. This includes trauma, joint arthroplasty, hand, foot and ankle, spine, sports medicine, oncology and pediatrics.

The program is based on the fundamentals of anatomy, physiology and pathology for the treatment of musculoskeletal diseases. Throughout the five-year program, an emphasis is directed toward the development of diagnostic and surgical skills.

The Baylor College of Medicine affiliated residency program in orthopedic surgery is an approved 60-month training program in all areas of musculoskeletal surgery.

Program Highlights

Our residents train at the Baylor College of Medicine Medical Center and the affiliated hospitals throughout the resident rotations.

  • Total number of residents in program: 30
  • Starting date of residency: July 1
  • Appointments made after M.D. received
  • Other prerequisites for program: None
  • The deadline for all application document submission is Nov. 1.
  • The Residency Selection Committee invites candidates to interview starting Nov.1.
  • View a list of our faculty.

Educational Honors

This program has a number of educational honors awarded and recognized at the annual commencement ceremony, all of which include monetary awards:

Bronze Hammer Award

The Bronze Hammer Award is funded through the generosity of Joseph Barnhart, M.D., and is awarded to a fourth year resident. However, it is not necessarily given each year. The receiver of this award is an honest individual with respect for people, gentle in manner, selfless in judgment, honest in application of skills, inventive in skills. Benefits consist of a certificate, an engraved bronze hammer and $10,000 for travel expenses in orthopedic studies. The study may be done as an elective during a rotation in the final year of training. 

Hugh S. Tullos Research Award

The Hugh S. Tullos Award was established to promote research, and to encourage excellence in papers prepared by residents. The paper must be considered publishable and achieve a high level of excellence as judged by the award committee. A certificate and a monetary award of $1,000 are presented to the winner at the annual graduation ceremony. All residents at all levels are encouraged to participate in submitting research papers for consideration.

Orthopedic In-Training Exam Award

The Orthopedic In-Training Exam Award was established to recognize an outstanding resident on behalf of the Residency Review Committee. The recipient is given a monetary award of $1,000. Furthermore, the recipient also receives a certificate in recognition for being the graduating resident with the highest mean score on the OITE exam during the last four years of the residency program. 

Michael J. Epstein “Wooden Pager” Award

Established by the graduating class of 2009, The Michael J. Epstein Award was established to recognize an outstanding junior resident on behalf of the members of the graduating chief class. The recipient is given a monetary award of $500. He or she also receives a plaque of recognition for being the junior resident who has demonstrated principles of professionalism, work ethic, humanism, and a sincere dedicated commitment to orthopedic medicine.