About Us

The Scott Department of Urology at Baylor College of Medicine has designed a five-year residency program specifically tailored for urologic training. The Urology Residency includes general surgery, surgical subspecialties (plastic, pediatric, and gynecologic surgery), general urology and urological subspecialties (infertility, neurourology, and endourology).

This program offers residents extensive clinical exposure combined with a scholarly experience that will prepare them for lifelong careers as leaders in academic or clinical urology.

The program provides progressively increasing responsibilities with maximum patient contact. Each resident is encouraged to advance at his or her own pace in the achievement of technical excellence and clinical judgment.

The accumulation of experience prepares the chief residents to maintain smooth operation of the urology service at: Houston Methodist, Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center, Texas Medical Center, Texas Children's Hospital, Ben Taub Hospital, and the Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

Because the residency is not a pyramidal system, each resident whose performance is satisfactory is assured of completing formal academic training and thus becoming eligible for certification by the American Board of Urology.

See a complete list of faculty on the Scott Department of Urology site.