Department of Anesthesiology

Anesthesiology Chair's Message

Media Component
 James M. Anton
Department of Anesthesiology Chair: James M. Anton, M.D.

The Department of Anesthesiology at Baylor College of Medicine strives to support our community by providing excellent services within our clinical practice, education programs, research, and through our administrative offices.

Our clinical practice focuses on all facets of Anesthesiology, including critical care anesthesia, cardiovascular anesthesia, obstetric anesthesia, pain management, and pediatric anesthesia. Our services span across several of the Texas Medical Center hospitals - Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, Ben Taub Hospital, Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, Texas Children’s Hospital, and the Texas Heart Institute. Our faculty are dedicated to the education of medical students, residents, fellows, and graduate students. They are valued, board-certified experts in their various subspecialties who recognize the unique needs of our patients and trainees, and work diligently to provide an optimum experience.

Our research is fundamental to the development and improvement of healthcare. We provide simulator-based anesthesiology education. Our clinical research focuses on perioperative, acute pain management, sedation for diagnostic and radiological procedure trials. Our basic science laboratory conducts experiments, mentors clinician-scientists, supports collaborative research opportunities, and provides research training for residents, fellows, and graduate students. Our talented scientists are committed to the work they produce.

Members of our department are involved in developing improved healthcare delivery methods in national, regional, and local leadership roles. All members of our department actively participate in doing their part to support the college’s mission, our specialty, and our community. We are committed to building a congenial and stimulating work environment and welcome all who are interested in joining our team!

We invite you to explore more about our department on our website and Twitter. For any questions or comments, please contact our business office at (713)798-7356.

James M. Anton, M.D.
Associate Professor, Chair