School of Medicine

Honor Council


Baylor College of Medicine Honor Council


The Baylor College of Medicine Honor Council works to maintain the highest standards of honesty and integrity with regards to academic matters. The Honor Council has jurisdiction to assist in the enforcement of the Honor Code for all medical students attending BCM. As such, the Honor Council will investigate, review and present its findings to the M.D. Committee on Student Promotions and Academic Achievement regarding accusations of academic misconduct.

Examples of academic misconduct within the jurisdiction of the Honor Council include, but are not limited to:

  • Dishonesty
  • Cheating
  • Plagiarism or utilizing the work or ideas of other individuals without proper acknowledgement or permission
  • Sabotaging the work or performance of other students or trainees
  • Falsification of academic records
  • Tolerating breaches of the Honor Code or academic misconduct performed by other students or trainees

Importantly, the scope of practice of the Honor Council does not include offenses or accusations that comprise violations of federal, state or municipal law. These issues should be handled by the proper authorities. The Honor Council has the discretion to notify the appropriate BCM administrators and/or the appropriate external agencies of any potential violations of the federal, state or municipal law that the Council encounters in response to a complaint or during the course of an investigation. For further information regarding confidentiality practices in the context of legal violations, see Article V, Section 4.

Additionally, the scope of practice of the Honor Council does not include issues of professionalism that do not constitute violations of the Honor Code. Issues of professionalism are with the scope of Practice of the Student Professionalism Response and Intervention Team (SPRINT), the director of Medical Student Professionalism, and the Office of Student Affairs.

(The above information is from Article I of the Honor Council Constitution, the entirety of which was authored by Ruth Ackah, Michael Bass, Prateek Bhattacharya, Joshua Eldridge, Rebecca Hetrick, and Talia Noorily).



“On my honor, as a member of the Baylor community, I have neither given nor received any unauthorized aid on this [assessment / assignment]”


“I pledge to maintain a high level of respect and integrity as a student representing BCM. I understand and will uphold the Honor Code in letter and spirit to help our school advance authentic learning. I will not lie, cheat, plagiarize or be complicit with those who do. I will encourage fellow students to uphold these same values. I make this pledge in the spirit of honor and trust.”


Honor Council Constitution


Please refer to the PDF of the Honor Council Constitution for easy reference to the following information:

Article I: Duties and Scope of Practice

Article II: Structure and Organization

  • Section 1: Composition
  • Section 2: Eligibility
  • Section 3: Application and Election Process for Student Members
  • Section 4: Removal and Replacement of Student Members
  • Section 5: Leadership Roles Within the Honor Council

Article III: Incident Reporting

Article IV: Process of Incident Investigation

  • Section 1: Fact finding
  • Section 2: Preliminary review
  • Section 3: Formal hearing
  • Section 4: Documentation
  • Section 5: Recusal
  • Section 6: Appeal

Article V: Confidentiality and Accountability

  • Section 1: Confidentiality of Investigation
  • Section 2: Anonymity of Incident Reports
  • Section 3: Confidentiality of Other Witnesses

Article VI: Annual Report

Article VII: Constitutional Review

Article VIII: Constitutional Amendments


Contact Information


Faculty Advisor:
Dr. Jean Leclerc Raphael, M.D., M.P.H.

HC Student Chair:
Eugenia Chen


Related Links


Honor Council Representatives:


Class of 2022
Elliot Baerman
Kevin Guan
Rishabh Kothari
Christopher Wong

CLASS OF 2023:
Jae Eun Lee
Seth Mattson
Samantha Neal
Denise Robson

Class of 2020
Christopher Hyde
Meera Namireddy
David Oleson
William Porter

Class of 2021
Eugenia Chen
Elaine Dong
Lindsey Limbaugh
Wynne Zhang