School of Medicine

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society


Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA) is the only national medical honor society in the world. Founded in 1902, the original mission of the society was “to encourage high ideals of thought and action in schools of medicine and to promote that which is highest in professional practice.” Today, there are over 130 chapters in medical schools throughout the United States and more than 183,000 members elected since its founding. The honor of AΩA membership is accompanied by the responsibility to uphold and promote the mission that in the profession of medicine, patient care will be improved by:

  • Recognizing high educational achievement
  • Honoring gifted teaching
  • Encouraging the development of leader in academia and the community
  • Supporting the ideals of humanism
  • Promoting service to others

The Texas Beta chapter of AΩA at Baylor College of Medicine was founded in 1949, the 55th chapter in the country. Medical students are elected to AΩA membership twice a year based on their academic performance, extracurricular activities, research endeavors, and commitment to the community. Generally, one-sixth of the graduating class is elected to membership. In addition, our AΩA chapter elects deserving residents, faculty, and medical school alumni each year.


Sign-Up to Receive Chapter Updates


We continue to develop our community of Alpha Omega Alpha members from Baylor College of Medicine. To keep up to date with chapter news and events, please complete our sign-up form.