Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Contact Us

Admissions and General Inquiries

General inquiries regarding admissions, academic programs or other aspects of graduate education at Baylor College of Medicine can be made to:

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza, MS Code 215
Houston, Texas 77030-3498

Main number: (713) 798-4028
Admissions: (713) 798-4029
Fax: (713) 798-6325
Email: gradappboss@bcm.edu

Administrative Office

Helen Shepherd
Phone: (713) 798-4518
Email: hms@bcm.edu

Academics

Melissa Houghton
Phone: (713) 798-4031
Email: melissah@bcm.edu

Admissions

Elizabeth Franks
Phone: (713) 798-4029
Elizabeth.Franks@bcm.edu 

Graduate School Administration and Office of Postdoctoral Research

Emily Shonk
Phone: (713) 798-4145
Email: legler@bcm.edu

SMART Program/Special Projects

Deborah Blesener
Phone: (713) 798-5199
Email: blesener@bcm.edu

Kerri Mejia
Phone: (713) 798-3721
krmejia@bcm.edu

Laurie Connor, Ph.D.
Phone: (713) 798-3521
lconnor@bcm.edu

Graduate School Deans

Interim Dean of the Graduate School

Adam Kuspa, Ph.D.
Email: kuspa@bcm.edu

Sr. Associate Dean of Graduate Education and Diversity

Gayle Slaughter, Ph.D.
Phone: (713) 798-6644
Email: gayles@bcm.edu

Sr. Associate Dean of Graduate Education and Academic Program Development

Carolyn Smith, Ph.D.
Email: carolyns@bcm.edu

Assistant Dean of Admissions

Gad Shaulsky, Ph.D.
Email: gadi@bcm.edu

Assistant Dean of Postdoctoral Research and Career Development

Rick Sifers, Ph.D.
Email: rsifers@bcm.edu

Graduate Program Administrators and Directors

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Ruth Reeves
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-0124
Email: rareeves@bcm.edu

B.V. Venkatar Prasad, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-1625
Email: vprasad@bcm.edu

Clinical Scientist Training Program

Kelly Levitt
Academic Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-4267
Email: klevitt@bcm.edu

Ashok Balasubramanyam, M.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-8654
Email: ashokb@bcm.edu

Developmental Biology

Catherine Tasnier
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-7696
Email: cat@bcm.edu

Hugo Bellen, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-5272
Email: hbellen@bcm.edu

Integrative Molecular and Biomedical Sciences

Lourdes Fernandez
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-6557
Email: lourdesf@bcm.edu

David L. Nelson, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (832) 824-8160
Email: nelson@bcm.edu

Medical Scientist Training Program, M.D./Ph.D. Program

Krista Defalco
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-6613
Email: kdefalco@bcm.edu

Vanessa Hatfield
Academic Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-5264
Email: hatfield@bcm.edu

Sharon Plon, M.D., Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (832) 824-4251
Email: splon@bcm.edu

Molecular and Cellular Biology

Caroline Kosnik
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-4598
Email: ckosnik@bcm.edu

Joanne Richards, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-6238
Email: joanner@bcm.edu

Molecular and Human Genetics

Judi Coleman
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-5056
Email: jcoleman@bcm.edu

Gad Shaulsky, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-8082
Email: gadi@bcm.edu

Molecular Physiology and Biophysics and Cardiovascular Sciences

Elizabeth Haynes
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-5109
Email: Elizabeth.Haynes@bcm.edu

Christine Beeton, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-5030
Email: beeton@bcm.edu

George Rodney, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-3475
Email: rodney@bcm.edu

Molecular Virology and Microbiology

Rosa Banegas
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-4472
Email: rbanegas@bcm.edu

R. Frank Ramig, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-4830
Email: rramig@bcm.edu

Neuroscience

Wanda Waguespack
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-7270
Email: wandaw@bcm.edu

Paul Pfaffinger, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-3060
Email: paulp@bcm.edu

Pharmacology

Kim Tran
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-4457
Email: kimt@bcm.edu

Choel Kim, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-8411
Email: ckim@bcm.edu

Pathology & Immunology

Christal Colbert
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-3921
Email: Christal.Colbert@bcm.edu

John Rodgers, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-3903
Email: jrodgers@bcm.edu

Rick Sifers, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-3169
Email: rsifers@bcm.edu

Structural and Computational Biology and Molecular Biophysics

Meagan Simpson
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-5197
Email: meaganr@bcm.edu

Wah Chiu, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-6985
Email: wah@bcm.edu

Translational Biology and Molecular Medicine

Brittany Wood
Program Administrator
Phone: (713) 798-1077
Email: Brittany.Wood@bcm.edu

Mary Estes, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: (713) 798-3585
Email: mestes@bcm.edu

Igna Van der Veyver, M.D.
Program Co-director
Phone: (832) 824-8125
Email: iveyver@bcm.edu

Accreditation

Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (the M.D., Ph.D., and M.S. degrees)
1866 Southern Lane
Decatur, GA 30033-4097
Phone: (404) 679-4512

Inquiries to the commission should relate only to the accreditation status of the institution and not to general admission information.