Read news and accomplishments from some our Department of Surgery alumni.

Hurricane Harvey Forces Alumnus to Perform Hospital's First-Ever Brain Surgery

Eric Askenasy (320x240)
Eric Askenasy, M.D.

Dr. Erik Askenasy (BCM Class of 2014), surgeon on-call and a member of LBJ's ride-out team, knew the patient’s life was at stake after the patient’s CT scan revealed significant bleeding in the space between the skull and brain, and in one of the brain’s lobes.

WVU Names Director of Institute for Critical Care and Trauma

Alison Wilson class of 2001 (320x240)
credit: West Virginia UniversityAlison Wilson, M.D., F.A.C.S Associate Professor and Chief, Division of Trauma, Acute Care Surgery and Surgical Critical Care Department of Surgery, WVU School of Medicine

Alison Wilson, M.D., (General Surgery Residency class of 2001 and Surgical Critical Care Residency class of 2002), has been named the director of West Virginia University’s Institute for Critical Care and Trauma.

Read the announcement.

Alumnus Robert J. Salem, M.D.

Robert J. Salem  (320x240)
credit: Margi LevinRobert J. Salem, M.D.

The A-J Remembers: Dr. Robert J. Salem has worked to save others for 60 years and says, "retirement is just not in my vocabulary."

Read more in the Lubbock Avalanche-Journal.

Drs. Briggs and Spira named ICONs by Baylor Plastic Surgery

The Plastic Surgery Foundation and the American Association of Plastic Surgeons created a living history of plastic surgery. Thomas Biggs, M.D. and Melvin Spira, M.D., D.D.S. were the only Texans in the group. 

Read more.

Steven D. Schwaitzberg, M.D.

Steven D. Schwaitzberg, MD (320x240)
Steven D. Schwaitzberg, M.D. - Class of 1986

Alumnus Dr. Steven D. Schwaitzberg (M.D. ’80, General Surgery Residency ’86) was recently promoted to professor of surgery at Harvard Medical School. 

Read more.

Alumni Symposium and 20th Congress of the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society

Cheney Museum tour (320x240)
credit: Margi LevinAt the Alumni Symposium & 20th Congress of the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society, former Vice President Dick Cheney (right) gets a tour from Dr. Todd K. Rosengart and Dr. Kenneth L. Mattox.

Celebrating 60 years of excellence in resident education

The Department of Surgery is extremely pleased with the outcome of the Alumni Symposium & 20th Congress of the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society that took place in Baylor College of Medicine on May 16-17, 2014.

The event, a first for the Department of Surgery, was a great success. Over 400 attendees, six educational sponsors, and 14 exhibitors; the event is considered the largest congregation of alumni in many years and one of the best attended meetings of the society.

It was a professional and a social event that allowed for seamless exchange of information, an opportunity to meet some of the greatest surgeons in the world, and an occasion to hear the testimony of one of the most prominent national figures who has benefited from ground-breaking cardiothoracic surgical advances made at Baylor College of Medicine.

Our First 'Mission Abroad' Returns from Tanzania

Serengerema team (320x240)
credit: Yan Shi, M.D.The Tanzania team: back row, left to right: Dr. Jatin Anand, Dr. Jed G. Nuchtern and Dr. Oluyinka O. Olutoye. Front row, left to right: Dr. Yan Shi, Dr. C. Anne Morrison, Dr. Olutoyin A. Olutoye, Filomina George, R.N., and Dr. Stephen A. Stayer.

Department faculty members and residents had an extraordinary experience in the Sengerema Designated District Hospital in Tanzania. The team traveled to this rural area hospital to provide specialized surgical care to patients and to train local assistant medical officers under conditions that are dramatically different from what they have experienced at Baylor College of Medicine.

Read their story