Department of Surgery

Charles H. McCollum, M.D.

Media Component
Dr. Charles H. McCollum

Dr. Charles H. McCollum joined the Department as a faculty member in 1966 alongside Dr. Michael E. DeBakey. Since then, he has served as acting chair of the Department (1998-1999) and interim chief of both the Division of Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy and the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery. Dr. McCollum was program director of the General Surgery program for 23 years. He organized and was co-director of the Vascular Diagnostic Lab at the Houston Methodist Hospital for 36 years and held the Olga Keith Weiss Endowed Chair of Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. McCollum was presented with a 50 Year Service Award and the “Lifetime” Alumni Achievement Award from Baylor College of Medicine, was named a Distinguished Houston Surgeon by the Houston Surgical Society and received the Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus Award from The University of Texas Medical Branch Alumni Association.  In 2019, he was recognized among One Hundred Notable Physicians at the First Centennial Celebration at Houston Methodist Hospital. 

Dr. McCollum graduated from The University of Texas Medical Branch, where he was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. He completed his general and thoracic surgery training at Baylor College of Medicine and is triple board-certified in thoracic, general, and vascular surgery.  Dr. McCollum has served as president of the Houston Surgical Society, the Texas Surgical Society, and president of the Michael E. DeBakey Surgical International Surgery Society.

Currently, Dr. McCollum is a professor of surgery and director of Alumni Affairs at Baylor College of Medicine. His research has focused on non-invasive studies for the diagnosis of peripheral vascular disease using ultrasound technology.

Media Component

2021 DeBakey Award Ceremony - Charles H. McCollum, M.D.