Department of Medicine

Vice Chair for Research


Message from the Vice Chair for Research


Vice Chair for Research, Rolando Rumbaut, M.D., Ph.D.

The Vice Chair Group is committed to leading the research area of the Department of Medicine to become the foremost engine of scientific discovery. Its goal is the translation and implementation of this scientific discovery to advance health at Baylor College of Medicine and its affiliated hospitals and research institutes: Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, Baylor Clinic, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, Ben Taub Hospital, and Baylor Scott & White Research Institutes.

Our goal is to 1) support the research careers and development of Department of Medicine faculty and trainees; 2) promote collaboration of our faculty among the broader range of investigators at Baylor College of Medicine and affiliated institutions; and 3) strategically review on an ongoing basis our department’s research portfolio, funding opportunities and research space allocation to identify opportunities for strategic growth and recruitment to enhance our goals. Our initial strategic priorities include:

1. Develop an internal grant review process for Department of Medicine for K awards, initial R01 submissions, initial renewal of R01 grants and review of grants for faculty at risk, with the goal of improving the funding rate for submitted grants over the next 5 years and with yearly evaluation of progress.

2. Review current Department of Medicine research funding—including funding to medicine/center faculty; this includes NIH, VA, not-for-profit (AHA, ADA and pharma/biotech)—with the goal of increasing the amount and diversity of total grant funding in the department over the next 5 years and with yearly evaluation of progress.

3. Work with each section to develop a tentative plan for 2018 that will be submitted to the Department of Medicine Pre-Award Office in July 2017 for planned grant submissions, with the goal of increasing submissions and funding and optimizing workflow for the Pre-Award Office.

Research Committee

Dr. Melissa Bondy, Member
Dr. Laura Petersen, Member (HVAMC)
Dr. Wolfgang Winkelmayer, Member
Dr. David Corry, Member (BCM-Baylor Scott & White)
Dr. Ashok Balasubramanyam. Member (Ben Taub, BSLMC Liaison)
Dr. Matthew Ellis, Member (Breast Center)
Dr. Sankar Navaneethan, Member (ICTR- OCR)
Dr. Nicola Hanania, Member (Ben Taub)
Dr. Barbara Trautner, Ad-hoc member (Surgery/HSR)
Dr. Colin Duckett, Ad-hoc member (Baylor Scott & White)

Representatives from Department of Medicine Sections

Cardiovascular Research
Atherosclerosis - Dr. Vijay Nambi
CVS - Dr. Mark Entman
Hypertension - Dr. Addison Taylor
Thrombosis - Dr. Miguel Cruz
Cardiology - Dr. Anita Deswal
Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism - Dr. Dennis Villareal
Epidemiology & Population Sciences - Dr. Aaron Thrift
Gastroenterology and Hepatology - Dr. Jason Hou
General Medicine - Dr. Jung Park
Geriatrics - Dr. George E. Taffet
Health Services Research - Dr. Jessica Davila
Hematology & Oncology - Dr. Weei-Chin Lin
Immunology, Allergy - Dr. David Corry
Rheumatology - Dr. Grace Lo
Infectious Diseases - Dr. Elizabeth Chiao
Nephrology - N/A
Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine - Dr. Roland Rumbaut
Transition Medicine - Dr. Ellen Fremion