Center for Space Medicine

Why We Go

Master
Content

Why We Go” is a monthly discussion series examining interplanetary exploration through conversations with diverse experts optimistically answering the question, why do humans go to space? The series speaks to the hard science and the human elements, allowing us to think holistically about human society and our path to the future. “Why We Go” is a collaboration between the Translational Research Institute for Space Health (TRISH) at Baylor College of Medicine and Interplanetary Initiative at Arizona State University.

Heading

Mission Impossible: Terraforming on Mars 

Description

As NASA prepares for the first crewed missions to Mars, the Why We Go series explores the fact and fiction of Martian terraforming. Is it possible to shape another planet to make it habitable by humans?

Discussing this terraforming technology is planetary scientist Dr. Jim Bell, along with MOXIE investigator and NASA astronaut (retired) Dr. Jeffrey Hoffman, in a session moderated by Dr. Lindy Elkins-Tanton of the ASU Interplanetary Initiative.

Come prepared to listen, learn and launch into the awe of human exploration

Date and Time
Thursday, July 22
11 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. CT / 2 p.m. ET
Run time: 1 hour

Register

Previous Recordings

Terms
Jim

Item Term
Dr. Jim Bell

Item Definition

Dr. Jim Bell is a planetary scientist with Arizona State University and is involved in NASA solar system exploration missions, like Mars rovers Spirit, Opportunity and Curiosity.

Jeffrey

Item Term
Dr. Jeffrey Hoffman

Item Definition

Dr. Jeffrey Hoffman is a Mars Oxygen In-Situ Resource Utilization Experiment (MOXIE) deputy principal investigator, retired NASA astronaut with 5 completed space flights and a TRISH innovation specialist.