Department of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

Lanny Garth Close, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Media Component
Lanny Garth Close, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Member of the Hall of Fame of the Bobby R. Alford Department of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

B.A., Texas Tech University, 1968
M.D., Baylor College of Medicine, 1972
Surgery Residency, Johns Hopkins Hospital, 1974
Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Residency, Baylor College of Medicine, 1977
Fellowship, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, 1979

Academic Positions
Howard W. Smith Professor and Chair, Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery, Columbia University, 1994
Program Director, Combined Residency Training Program at Columbia, Cornell and Memorial, 1999
Professor and Vice-Chair, Department of Otorhinolaryngology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, 1989

Awards and Service
Vice President of the Eastern Section, Triological Society, 2007
Royal Society of Medicine, 2006
President, Association of Academic Departments of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, 2003-2005
President, New York Presbyterian Hospital Medical Board, 2001-2002
Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars, 1998
Fellow, American Laryngological Association, 1993
AAMC ERAS Advisory Committee
Abstracts Editor, Head and Neck

Clinical and Research Interests: Head and neck, skull base, endoscopic sinus surgery, head and neck oncology