Department of Medicine Chair

Dr. Hashem El-Serag (320x240)
Dr. Hashem El-Serag, Department of Medicine Chair

Dr. Hashem El-Serag served nine years as chief of the Section of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at Baylor College of Medicine before beginning his service as chair in January 2017.  While there, the section saw considerable growth and success in its clinical, research and education missions with the recruitment of more than 30 new faculty members and the establishment of multidisciplinary clinical and research programs in inflammatory bowel disease, advanced endoscopy and chronic liver disease, as well as NIH-funded research fellowship training. He continues to hold his position as the director of the Texas Medical Center Digestive Disease Center as well as his clinical practice. “As an internationally recognized physician-scientist, Dr. El-Serag understands the College’s strategic vision that combines research, clinical and education components,” said Dr. Paul Klotman, president, CEO and executive dean of Baylor College of Medicine.

Dr. El-Serag has published more than 400 articles in peer-reviewed scientific journals and has contributed to numerous books and reviews related to digestive disorders and hepatology. Dr. El-Serag has held more than 50 peer-reviewed research grants and is funded by multiple NIH and Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas grants. He has held visiting professorships. He served as the editor in chief for Clinical Gastroenterology & Hepatology (2012-2017) and is currently editor-in-chief (through 2019) for the American Gastroenterological Association Journal.

Awards and recognitions for Dr. El-Serag include “World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds 2014, 2015, 2017” in the area of Clinical Medicine by Thompson Reuter; Baylor College of Medicine’s 2016 Michael E. DeBakey Excellence in Research Award; the Blue Faery Award for Excellence in Liver Cancer Research; and multi-year inclusion in Texas Super Doctors. He is an elected member of the American Society of Clinical Investigators and the American Association of Physicians. Dr. El-Serag is president of the American Gastroenterological Association.

Dr. El-Serag earned his medical degree from Al-Arab Medical University in Libya. He completed his residency in internal medicine at Greenwich Hospital, Yale University, and a fellowship in clinical gastroenterology at the University of New Mexico. While there, he also earned a master of public health degree.

Vice Chair Groups

The Department of Medicine has seven vice chair groups. Our goal is to make the Department of Medicine a recognized leader in each of our mission areas: scientific discovery and research, patient clinical care and medical education and training. With this plan and new organization structure, we are challenging ourselves to go further and excel in all ways. See details on each of the vice chair groups below:

Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs

Mandeep Bajaj, M.B.B.S.
Professor, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

Vice Chair for Education

Richard J. Hamill, M.D.
Professor, Infectious Diseases

Vice Chair for Faculty and Staff Development

Joslyn Fisher, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor, General Internal Medicine

Vice Chair for Harris Health System/Ben Taub Hospital

Stephen Greenberg, M.D., MACP
Distinguished Service Professor, General Internal Medicine

Vice Chair for Quality Improvement and Innovations

Aanand D. Naik, M.D.
Associate Professor, Health Services Research

Vice Chair for Research

Christie M. Ballantyne, M.D.
Chief, Cardiology and Cardiovascular Research

Vice Chair for Veterans Affairs

Biykem Bozkurt, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Cardiology