Professor Departments of Neurology, Neuroscience, and Molecular and Human Genetics
Cullen Trust for Health Care Endowed Chair in Neurogenetics 
Director, Blue Bird Circle Developmental Neurogenetics Laboratory

2013 Recipient

debakeyawards-2013recipients (320x240)
Excellence in Research Awards 2013 winners. Left: George Noon, M.D., Paul Klotman, M.D., Martin Matzuk, M.D., Ph.D., Mauro Costa-Mattioli, Ph.D., Jeffrey Noebels, M.D., Ph.D., Thomas "Trey" Westbrook, Ph.D., Matthew Rasband, Ph.D., Adam Kuspa, Ph.D.

Dr. Noebels was nominated for his contributions towards our understanding of the inherited mechanisms underlying single gene control of cortical excitability and epilepsy in the developing brain, including identifying the first gene linking arrhythmias in brain and heart leading to sudden unexpected death, and the pioneering discovery of 'silent seizures' in Alzheimer's Disease. He has initiated pioneering contributions to our understanding of epilepsy genes by introducing a new paradigm into epilepsy research. This strategy set the stage for the subsequent human gene discoveries in epilepsy.

Dr. Noebels' nomination for the Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Excellence in Research Award is based in particular on papers for three recent breakthroughs:

Klassen T, Davis, C, Goldman A, Burgess D, Chen T, Wheeler D, McPherson J, Bourquin T, Lewis L, Villasana D, Morgan M, Muzny D, Gibbs R, Noebels J. (2011) "Exome sequencing of ion channel genes reveals complex profiles confounding personal risk assessment in epilepsy". Cell145:1036-48. 

Glasscock E, Qian J, Kole MJ, Noebels JL. (2012) "Transcompartmental reversal of single fiber hyperexcitability in juxtaparanodal Kv1.1-deficient vagus nerve axons by activation of nodal KCNQ channels". J Physiol. 590: 3913-26. 

Holth JK, Bomben VC, Reed JG, Inoue T, Younkin L, Younkin SG, Pautler RG, Botas J, Noebels JL (2013) "Tau loss attenuates neuronal network hyperexcitability in mouse and Drosophila genetic models of epilepsy." J Neuroscience. 33:1651-9.