Molecular and Cellular Biology, Huffington Center on Aging

2007 Recipient

debakeyawards-2007recipients (320x240)
Winners of the 2007 Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Excellence in Research Awards. From left: Brendan Lee, M.D., Ph.D., David M. Spencer, Ph.D., Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Adam Antebi, Ph.D., Zhou Songyang, Ph.D.

Dr. Antebi received the award for his groundbreaking work in C. elegans that illustrates the specific role of DAF-12 as a nuclear receptor, the identification of dafachronic acids that bind to and transactivate DAF-12, and that DAF-9 and DAF-36 are two cytochrome P450s necessary for the biosynthesis of dafachronic acids.

Dr. Antebi's nomination was based on the following publications:

Motola DL, Cummins CL, Rottiers V, Sharma KK, Li T, Li Y, Suino-Powell K, Xu HE, Auchus RJ, Antebi A, Mangelsdorf DJ. Identification of ligands for DAF-12 that govern dauer formation and reproduction in C. elegans. Cell. 2006 Mar 24;124(6):1209-23. 

Rottiers V, Motola DL, Gerisch B, Cummins CL, Nishiwaki K, Mangelsdorf DJ, Antebi A. Hormonal control of C. elegans dauer formation and life span by a Rieske-like oxygenase. Dev Cell. 2006 Apr;10(4):473-82. 

Gerisch B, Rottiers V, Li D, Motola DL, Cummins CL, Lehrach H, Mangelsdorf DJ, Antebi A. A bile acid-like steroid modulates Caenorhabditis elegans lifespan through nuclear receptor signaling. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2007 Mar 20;104(12):5014-9.