The McNair Medical Institute at Baylor College of Medicine was established in 2007 to recruit talented scientists and physician-scientists from around the world to the Texas Medical Center. These McNair Scholars pursue collaborative and transformational research in the areas of breast and pancreatic cancer, juvenile diabetes and the neurosciences.

Sameer A. Sheth, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Department of Neurosurgery

February 2018

Thomas (Trey) Westbrook, Ph.D.

Associate Professor in the Department of Molecular & Human Genetics and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Program in Integrative Molecular and Biomedical Sciences and Program in Developmental Biology

May 2017

Bing Zhang, Ph.D.

Professor in the Department of Molecular and Human Genetics and the Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center

October 2016

Nuo Li, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Neuroscience

April 2016

François St-Pierre, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Neuroscience

October 2015

Matthew J. Ellis, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine (Department of Oncology)

September 2014

Massimo T. Pietropaolo, M.D.

Professor of Medicine (Pathology and Immunology)

August 2014

Koen Venken, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

July 2014

Xaq Pitkow, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Neuroscience 

October 2013

Chenghang Zong, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Molecular and Human Genetics

August 2013

Russell Scott Ray, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Neuroscience

January 2013

Melissa L. Bondy, Ph.D.

Professor of Pediatrics (Hematology and Oncology)

September 2011

Xiang "Shawn" Zhang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

June 2011

Benjamin Russell Arenkiel, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Molecular & Human Genetics and Neuroscience

December 2010

Emeritus McNair Scholars

  • Erez Lieberman Aiden, Ph.D.
  • Malgorzata Borowiak, Ph.D.
  • Jake A. Kushner, M.D.

These Scholars have reached Emeritus status and no longer have active McNair funding but continue to make a great impact on behalf of the McNair Medical Institute and carry the McNair Scholar name.