The Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery's commitment to surgical, educational and research excellence - established when Dr. DeBakey became our first chair in 1948 - endures today. 

We practice at iconic institutions across the campus of the Texas Medical Center, the largest health science center in the world, including Texas Children’s Hospital, the Texas Heart Institute, Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center, Ben Taub Hospital, Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, and at affiliated institutions throughout the Houston community and beyond.

We partner with pioneering scientists and thought-leaders at our College, the Texas Medical Center, and at other leading institutions to advance the practice of medicine. We work in a culture in which accomplishments that would be considered ground breaking anywhere else seem to be everyday occurrences. We are committed to make a difference.

Our research program has expanded rapidly with funding levels that should take us to the top 25 in NIH ranking. Our new Research Core now manages over 30 ongoing clinical trials and more than $70 million in submitted grant applications. 

Our education programs have likewise advanced to attract the highest caliber of candidates to our residency programs. Our incoming board scores are in the top 15th percentile, and our new recruits are achieving the highest American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination scores in recent memory. Our undergraduate education programs, in turn, are inspiring many of our medical students – over 40 this year – to seek careers in surgery or surgical specialties.

To meet the opportunities offered by our expanding clinical and academic portfolios, we have appointed over 60 new faculty members and witnessed the expansion of a great variety of new programs and initiatives.

Our Vision

To be internationally recognized as the premier Department of Surgery in innovating breakthrough improvements in the quality and efficiency of patient care, and for training the next generation of surgical scientists, educators and innovators as leaders of our field.