Department of Medicine

Nephrology Fellowship


About Us


Baylor College of Medicine is located in the world-renowned Texas Medical Center, considered the largest medical center in the world. Our nephrology fellows principally train at four affiliated hospitals and several clinics located in and around the medical center.

The 2019-2020 U.S. News & World Report annual list of top graduate schools place Baylor College of Medicine in the top 15 percent of all U.S. medical schools. With that coveted ranking, the establishment of the O'Brien Kidney Research Center, and a generous endowment from Dr. Howard Selzman in 2015, the Section of Nephrology provides a strong infrastructure for its clinical and research programs.

The Section of Nephrology at Baylor College of Medicine is dedicated to excellence in teaching future nephrologists for both academic and clinical practices. We also advocate research careers of promising physicians and scientists. Our goal is to provide the best patient care for patients with kidney diseases. Our faculty are recognized nationally and internationally in research, education, and clinical care.

The Nephrology Fellowship was established in 1968 and over 45 years, we have graduated over 140 nephrologists. Each year, we select four to five fellows from a competitive pool of applicants. The mission of the program is to provide physicians with the background to complete the nephrology subspecialty Boards and to enter into practice as highly qualified nephrologists.

Read more about our outstanding program:

Training: Pathways, Tracks, and Curriculum

Current Fellows and Program Graduates

Thank you for visiting our section page. We look forward to hearing from you and wish every applicant the best of luck for a successful career in nephrology.


Message from Program Director


"We have an unwavering commitment to your education, your well-being and your future." Read more.


Current and Past Fellows


Get to know our most current fellows and see sampling of activities.

Back to topback-to-top