The ACGME-accredited Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship is sponsored by Baylor College of Medicine and is based at the Texas Medical Center.

The cardiology fellows have the opportunity to rotate through multiple affiliated training hospitals, all centrally located in the Texas Medical Center, including Ben Taub Hospital (public), Michael E. DeBakey Veteran Affairs Medical Center (public), and Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center/Texas Heart Institute (private). This rich clinical and scientific environment exposes our trainees to diverse patient populations and a broad spectrum of cardiovascular diseases in the world's largest medical center.

Training in cardiology requires that all fellows spend a minimum of three years in training, two of which are core clinical rotations as set by COCATS III. The third-year rotations include clinical research or further clinical training in the fellow's area of interest in cardiology. Fellows who are interested in pursuing basic or clinical cardiology research in cardiovascular disease will be provided the opportunity to spend an additional one or two years pursuing their research interests with the potential of being hired at the instructor level during their research tenure.