Molecular Virology & Microbiology

1994 Recipient

debakeyawards-1994recipients (320x240)
Winners of the 1994 Excellence in Research Awards. From left: Allan Bradley, Ph.D., Jeffrey Wade Harper, Ph.D., David Y. Graham, M.D., Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D., Stephen J. Elledge, Ph.D., and James R. Smith, Ph.D.

A possible role for p21 Sdi1/Cip1/Waf1 in cellular senescence

Dr. Smith was honored for his work on gene expression in cellular senescence.

Dr. Smith’s nomination was based on the following publication:

Noda A, Ning Y, Venable SF, Pereira-Smith OM, Smith JR. Cloning of senescent cell-derived inhibitors of DNA synthesis using an expression screen. Exp Cell Res. 1994 Mar;211(1):90-8.