About Us

The Cornea, Refractive and Anterior Segment Surgery Fellowship at Baylor College of Medicine consists of one year of post-residency training in the Department of Ophthalmology under the direction of Dr. M. Bowes Hamill, Dr. Douglas D. Koch, Dr. Stephen C. Pflugfelder and Dr. Mitchell P. Weikert. Two positions are available each year for the period from July 7 through July 6. 

The fellowship is designed as a comprehensive one-year program dedicated to the preparation of the post-residency fellow for an academic or consultative cornea, anterior segment and refractive surgical practice. The fellow will divide time among Drs. M. Bowes Hamill, Douglas D. Koch, Stephen C. Pflugfelder and Mitchell Weikert and will gain hands-on experience in the pre-operative evaluation, performance and post-operative care of the full spectrum of cornea and anterior segment surgical procedures. These will include penetrating and lamellar keratoplasty, limbal stem cell and amniotic membrane transplantation, complex cataract and intraocular lens surgery, anterior segment reconstruction, early and late repair of corneal trauma, and refractive surgery (PRK, LASIK and incisional procedures). Additionally, the fellow will learn to manage infectious and inflammatory corneal conditions as well as ocular surface and unusual anterior segment disorders.