Entrance of medical building with mirrored exterior and flags in front
The McNair campus is home to most of the Department of Medicine healthcare clinic sections. The remaining section will be moved to the campus by early 2019.

The Margaret M. and Albert B. Alkek Department of Medicine is the largest adult practice department at Baylor College of Medicine, with 566 full-time and 388 volunteer faculty members, 228 medical residents, 157 subspecialty trainees, 41 post-doctoral research fellows, 11 graduate students, and a staff of nearly 351, working in 14 departmental sections and 7 centers.

We provide a full spectrum of high-quality primary and subspecialty healthcare at the Baylor Clinic, Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center, and our affiliate hospitals, including Ben Taub Hospital, Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and Texas Children's Pavilion for Women.

Our departmental research initiatives span the continuum of biomedical research from basic to clinical and attract $48M in total extramural funding, including nearly $35M from the NIH and other federal sources.

Our mission is to lead the discovery of new knowledge to advance the medicine of tomorrow, educate the leaders of Internal Medicine, and provide compassionate care of the highest quality to our patients, while promoting healthy lifestyles and disease prevention.