Selected Major Awards and Honors


Congressional Gold Medal (2008)

Lasker Clinical Medical Research Award renamed as the Lasker DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award (2007)

History Making Texan Award, the Texas State History Museum Foundation (2006)

The Association of American Medical Colleges David E. Rogers Award (2004)

Veterans Affairs Medical Center named in DeBakey's honor (2004)

American Heart Association Lifetime Achievement Award (2003)

Lomonosov Large Gold Medal, Russian Academy of Sciences (2003)

The Ben Taub Humanitarian Award (2003)

Medal of Merit, International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences (2002)

MUSC "Lindbergh-Carrel Prize" (2002)

International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences Medal for Distinguished Achievements in Cardiovascular Sciences (2002)

NASA Invention of the Year Award (2001)

Houston Hall of Fame (2001)

Villanova University Mendel Medal Award (2001)

Library of Congress Bicentennial Living Legend Award (2000)

American Philosophical Society Jonathan Rhoads Medal (2000)

American Medical Association Virtual Mentor Award (2000)


Lifetime Achievement Award for Science and Technology from Children Uniting Nations (1999)

Texas Senate and House of Representatives, Adoption of Resolutions honoring Dr. DeBakey for 50 years of medical practice in Texas (1999)

Russian Academy of Sciences Foreign Member (1999)

John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award (1999)

Research!America's Lifetime Achievement Award (1998)

Karolinska Institute's Honorary Degree of Doctor of Medicine and the title "Foreign Adjunct Professor" (1997)

Russian Military Medical Academy, Boris Petrovsky International Surgeons Award and First Laureate of the Boris Petrovsky Gold Medal (1997)

Premio Giuseppe Corradi Award for Surgery and Scientific Research (1997)

Common Wealth Award, Sigma Xi

Health Care Hall of Fame (1996)

Women's International Center Samaritan Living Legacy Award (1994)

Giovanni Lorenzini Foundation Prize for the Advancement of Biomedical Science (1994)

Texas Society for Biomedical Research Distinguished Service Award (1994)

American Heart Association Lifetime Achievement Award (1994)

Foundation for Biomedical Research Lifetime Achievement Award (1991)

American College of Healthcare Executives Honorary Fellow (1990)

American Legion Distinguished Service Award (1990)

The Michael DeBakey Medal, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (1990)

William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement, Sigma Xi


The Michael DeBakey Medal, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (1989)

Association of American Medical Colleges Special Recognition Award (1988)

Academy of Surgical Research Markowitz Award (1988)

National Medal of Science (1987)

Theodore E. Cummings Memorial Prize for Outstanding Contributions in Cardiovascular Disease (1987)

First President of the Association of International Vascular Surgeons (1983)

Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences (1982)

Chair of the Board of Governors, Foundation for Biomedical Research (1981)

American Surgical Association Distinguished Service Award (1981)

Veterans of Foreign Wars Commander-in-Chief's Medal and Citation (1980)

Merit Order of the Republic of Egypt, First Class (1980)

Independence of Jordan Medal (1980)


Texas Scientist of the Year, Texas Academy of Science (1979)

Michael E. DeBakey International Cardiovascular Surgical Society formed by DeBakey's former students; name was later changed to the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society to include more of his surgical residents and trainees (1976)

U.S.S.R. Academy of Science 50th Anniversary Jubilee Medal (1973)


Presidential Medal of Freedom with Distinction (1969)

Eleanor Roosevelt Humanities Award (1969)

American Heart Association Gold Heart Award (1968)

Prix International Dag Hammarskjold Great Collar with Golden Medal (1967)

American Medical Association Billings Gold Medal Exhibit Award (1967)

Medical World News Doctor of the Year (1965)

Albert Lasker Award for Clinical Medical Research (1963)


American Medical Association Distinguished Service Award (1959)

Leriche Award (1959)

International Society of Surgery Distinguished Service Award (1958)

American Medical Association Hektoen Gold Medal Award (1954 and 1970)

Rudolph Matas Award in Vascular Surgery (1954)


Task Force on Medical Services of the Hoover Commission on Organization of the Executive Branch of the Government (1949)

Legion of Merit, United States Army (1945)

Additional Honors

Tulane Medical Alumni Association

International Health and Medical Film Festival

International College of Angiology

Encyclopedia Britannica

Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Academy of Medical Films