E-mail not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
BCM Family Newslink Banner

NewsLink, April 27, 2018
Please submit items for the weekly Newslink to Dana Benson.

Archive / BCM Family / BCM News on Twitter

Research News

DeBakey Research Awards May 8

Join the College as it honors five of its top researchers at the 2018 Michael E. DeBakey Excellence in Research Awards Ceremony and Symposium, Tuesday, May 8, from 2 to 4 p.m. in room M112 at main Baylor. The winners, Dr. Karl-Dimiter Bissig, Dr. Atul Chopra, Dr. Erez Lieberman Aiden, Dr. Meng Wang and Dr. Shawn Zhang, were selected for their significant published scientific contributions to clinical or basic biomedical research over the past three years and will present their recent work at the event. At the awards ceremony, researchers can pick up an "Ask Me about My Research" button, then start a conversation about their research by wearing the button. Watch this video as Dr. Adam Kuspa shows you just how easy the conversation can be. Talking about the great work going on at Baylor not only informs the public but also might inspire the next generation of scientists.Yoga in the courtyard


Awards and Recognitions

Bracey to serve on Harris Health board

Dr. Arthur BraceyDr. Arthur Bracey, professor of pathology & immunology, was appointed to the Harris Health System Board of Trustees for a two-year term ending in March 2020. Board members are appointed by the Harris County Commissioners Court, led by Harris County Judge Ed Emmett. The board works to fulfill the health system's mission and provides governance and management of Harris Health.

Lu publishes book on managing an academic medical clinic

Dr. Lee LuDr. Lee Lu, associate professor of medicine and an expert in primary care, and colleagues from the Society of General Internal Medicine, have published a book, "Leading an Academic Medical Practice," a comprehensive overview of leading an academic internal medicine resident clinic, including key administrative challenges. It has been endorsed by the Society and published by Springer. Learn more and order online.

Yates elected to AAP hematology/oncology committee

Dr. Amber YatesDr. Amber Yates, co-director of the Texas Children's Cancer and Hematology Centers Sickle Cell Program, was recently elected to a three-year term on the Executive Committee of the American Academy of Pediatrics Section of Hematology Oncology. As a member of the committee, she will assist the section in fulfilling its mission of educating pediatricians on hematology-oncology issues.

Houston Business Journal honors

Baylor's commitment to the health of the community and to its own employees was recognized by the Houston Business Journal, which recognized several Baylor physicians as Health Care Heroes and also named Baylor College of Medicine one of the city's 30 Healthiest Employers for 2018. Outstanding Health Care Practitioners are Dr. Ourania Preventza, associate professor of surgery; Dr. Alex Frigini, Dr. Karla Sepulveda and Dr. Marc Willis, associate professors of radiology; and Dr. Veronica Lenge, Dr. Jay Lin and Dr. Christie Lincoln, assistant professors of radiology. Dr. Allison Haddock, assistant professor of emergency medicine; Dr. Julie Nangia, assistant professor in the Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center; Dr. Amber Robinett, clinical assistant professor of pediatrics; and Dr. Christina Weng, assistant professor of ophthalmology, are honored as Rising Stars. They will be honored at a breakfast ceremony May 17 and featured in a special section of the newspaper May 18, which also will highlight the Healthiest Employers.


Today: Bowl for a good cause

If bowling is right up your alley, don't miss the annual student-organized Charity Bowling Ball this Friday at 5:30 p.m. at the University of Houston Game Room benefiting the H.O.M.E.S. clinic. Team and individual tickets available at the door or purchase online (or donate if you can’t attend).

May 1: Faculty Promotion Reception

Faculty who have recently earned promotions to associate professor and professor will be recognized at a ceremony May 1 at 4:45 p.m. in Alkek Lobby. See the full list of faculty promotions.

May 3: Alumni Awards Dinner

Baylor's Alumni Association will honor 13 alumni and faculty and two students for excellence in career achievement and service at an awards dinner Thursday, May 3, at the Four Seasons Hotel. The reception is at 6 p.m. and the dinner and program start at 7 p.m. See the full list of award winners. Baylor faculty, staff and students can purchase discounted tickets by contacting Ashley Learn at 713-798-5603 or ashley.learn@bcm.edu.

May 8: Finance 101

The Faculty Senate presents Lunch & Learn: Finance 101, with President, CEO and Executive Dean Dr. Paul Klotman and Julie Nickell, chief financial officer, on Tuesday, May 8, from noon to 1 p.m. in Cullen Auditorium. This inaugural event of the Faculty Senate's quarterly brown bag lunch series will offer interactive discussion about the challenges of academic medicine funding and provide clarity about the Baylor budgeting process.

College News

Faculty positions open on student-focused committees

Nominations are open for faculty representatives to serve in at-large positions on the Student Services Committee and the Student Appeals Committee. See guidelines and apply online.

ACR highlights work of Baylor radiologists

The American College of Radiologists recently featured the hard work and dedication of Baylor College of Medicine radiologists and residents during Hurricane Harvey in a case study for natural disaster response. Read more.

Arya mentors successful student research team

Dr. Monisha Arya, assistant professor of medicine, leads a team of BCM and Rice University students on a campaign on screening for the Hepatitis C virus in the primary care setting. Recently, one of the students she mentors, Rice undergraduate Luis Vasquez, earned first place at the 2018 Rice Medical Humanities Research Symposium and second place at Rice's 2018 Rice Undergraduate Research Symposium for his presentation on using text messaging to promote Hepatitis C screening. Other members of Arya's student research team include Ben Kellogg, Disha Kumar and Julika Kaplan, all Baylor students, and her fellow mentor, Dr. Daniel Murphy, assistant professor of medicine. Arya points to her students' success as an indicator of the importance of mentoring!

Faculty in the News

Baylor was in the news for its involvement in the planned TMC3 campus. Check out Baylor's news media mentions in Faculty in the News, and follow BCMHouston_News on Twitter to keep up with our experts in the media. Interested in science news? Read the latest in From the Labs.

Follow BCM

facebook icon facebook icon twitter icon youtube icon linkedin icon google plus icon Instagram icon