SECTION OF ENDOCRINOLOGY, DIABETES AND METABOLISM



INTERIM SECTION CHIEF Marco Marcelli, M.D.

The Section of Endocrinology had another successful year. With more than 35 publications and presentations at national and international meetings, the Section remains a leader in academic endocrinology and patient care. Section members have key roles in the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists, The Endocrine Society, NIH, American Diabetes Association, and ABIM. We focus on diabetes, obesity, metabolism, bone and steroid hormone and receptor research, and offer specialized patient care in every branch of clinical endocrinology. Our mission is to create a premier multidisciplinary research program that has relevance to the patients and the population we serve. This annual report outlines some of the accomplishments achieved in 2019.

Marco Marcelli, M.D. Professor of Medicine Interim Chief, Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

HIGHLIGHTS

- Dr. Bryan Jing was elected coordinator of all endocrine QI projects among BCM pavilions.
- Dr. Madhuri Vasudevan received the Rose Norton Fulbright award for excellence in teaching and evaluation and the Rising Star Clinical Award.
- Dr. Alan Garber chaired the task force writing committee for the 2019 AACE Comprehensive Type 2 Diabetes Management Algorithm, Consensus Statement and Executive Summary, published in Endocrine Practice.
- The Endocrine Neoplasia Center of Excellence, a joint effort between the Dept of Surgery and the Section Endocrinology, and led by surgeons Drs. Grogan Raymond and James Suliburk and endocrinologists Drs. Ha Nguyen and Ruchi Gaba, was started under the umbrella of the Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center.
- Endocrine Grand Rounds, the only city-wide conference for academic endocrinologists, was given CME accreditation.
- Endocrinology started a monthly research conference to discuss ongoing projects within the section in September 2019.
- The Section of Endocrinology organized the 18th Annual Symposium on Advanced Diabetes Management for Endocrine Fellows of all US programs at the Marriot Marquis in Houston.
- Members of the Section won 1st place in the Clinical Research, QI/Patient Safety, and Clinical Medicine categories in the 2019 DoM Housestaff Research Symposium.
- Dr. Susan Samson chaired the 28th Annual Meeting of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists in Los Angeles, California.

FACULTY

Interim Section Chief

• Marco Marcelli, M.D.

Primary Faculty

- Neeti Agarwal, M.D.
- Kelly R. Aguilar, M.D.
- Mandeep Bajaj, M.D.
- Ashok Balasubramanyam, M.D.
- Jasmine Boparai, M.D.
- Rui Chen M.D.
- Emilia Cordero, N.P.
- Richard A. (Aaron) Cox, M.D.
- Nancy Greta Renee Dufrane, M.D.
- Ruchi Gaba, M.D.
- Alan J. Garber, M.D.
- Sean M. Hartig, M.D.
- Bryan C. Jiang, M.D.
- Sanjay N. Mediwala, M.D.
- Ha Nguyen, M.D.
- Massimo Pietropaolo, M.D.
- Nalini Ram, M.D.

- Pradip Saha, M.D.
- Susan L. Samson, M.D.
- Rajagopal V. Sekhar, M.D.
- Zheng Sun, M.D.
- Madhuri M. Vasudevan, M.D.
- Dennis T. Villareal, M.D.
- Reina Villareal M.D.
- Li Zhang, M.D.

Joint Faculty

- David Moore, Ph.D.
- Bert W. O'Malley, M.D.
- Kazuhiro Oka, Ph.D.
- Joanne S. Richards, Ph.D.
- Jeffrey M. Rosen, Ph.D.
- Qiang Tong, Ph.D.
- Ming-Jer Tsai, Ph.D.
- Sophia Y. Tsai, Ph.D

Adjunct Faculty

- Shahid Muhammad
- Vijay Yechoor

RESEARCH ACTIVITIES

	NIH	Other Federal	Non-Federal	Cash	Total
BAJAJ, MANDEEP	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$29,384.61	\$29,384.61
BALASUBRAMANYAM, ASHOK	\$2,208,101.00	\$0.00	\$776,285.00	\$3,629.36	\$2,988,015.36
GARBER, ALAN J.	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$5,000.00	\$0.00	\$5,000.00
HARTIG, SEAN M.	\$396,250.00	\$0.00	\$114,893.00	\$0.00	\$511,143.00
PIETROPAOLO, MASSIMO	\$652,349.00	\$0.00	\$107,885.00	\$0.00	\$760,234.00
SAMSON, SUSAN LEANNE	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$17,522.93	\$17,522.93
SEKHAR, RAJAGOPAL V.	\$477,413.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$477,413.00
SUN, ZHENG	\$566,044.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$566,044.00
VILLAREAL, DENNIS T.	\$660,820.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$660,820.00
VILLAREAL, REINA	\$383,504.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$383,504.00
ZHANG, LI	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$396,223.00	\$0.00	\$396,223.00
ZHOU, WENJUN	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$65,581.00	\$0.00	\$65,581.00
TOTALS	\$5,344,481.00	\$0.00	\$1,465,867.00	\$50,536.90	\$6,860,884.90

HONORS AND AWARDS

Cox, Richard, Ph.D.

• Guided Poster Discussion, ENDO 2019

Gaba, Ruchi, M.D.

- Early Career award for excellence in patient care, May 2019
- 2nd place for poster presentation, AACE National meeting
- Association of Vitamin D levels with the severity of fibrosis in NAFLD patients with Type Maya Balakrishnan, Ruchi Gaba.

Garber, Alan, M.D.

• 2019 – 2020 Best Doctors in America

Hartig, Sean, M.D.

• Peer review panel, Joint Canada-Israel Health Joint Research Program Endocrinology, Early Career Reviewer Board

Mediwala, Sanjay, M.D.

• Endocrinology Fellowship Teaching Award, 2018 & 2019

Pietropaolo, Massimo, M.D.

• Certificate of Appreciation for Service, Scientific Sessions Meeting Planning.

Ram, Nalini, M.D.

- 2019 BCM "Woman of Excellence" Award
- 2019 America's Best Physicians
- 2019 Regional Top Doctor (Castle Connolly)
- 2018 Exceptional Women in Medicine Award (Castle Connolly)
- Thyrotoxic Periodic Paralysis Precipitated by Glucocorticoid Injection. Scott Car 2019
- Endocrine Society Outstanding Abstract Award (Mentor)
- Getting the GIST of Hypoglycemia
- Wajeeha Hussain; Nupur Kikani and Nalini Ram. First place in the Clinical Medic (Mentor)
- Levothyroxine Absorption Testing in Two Patients with Severe Hypothyroidism & Treatment. Carlson S, Kanji A, Jiang B, Ram N, Abstract and Oral Presentation, Texas and Selected Oral Presentation (Mentor)
- Norton Rose Award in Teaching and Evaluation, Spring 2018

Samson, Susan, M.D.

- International Steering Chair
- Winograd D, Stagger KA, Sebastian S, Takashima M, Yoshor D, and Samson SL. Under revision after peer review. An effective and practical fluid restriction protocol that eliminates hyponatremia and readmissions after transsphenoidal surgery. American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists, 28th Annual Scientific and Clinical Congress, Los Angeles CA, 2019
- Winner fellow travel award
- Winner Dr. Jeffrey Garber Award for Cost-Effective Patient Care
- 1st Place, Department of Medicine Housestaff Symposium, Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Category

Sekhar, Rajagopal, M.D.

- First Place: Clinical Research Category, Department of Medicine Research Symposium, Baylor College of Medicine, Apr 2019
- Second Place: Basic Science Category, Department of Medicine Research Symposium, Baylor College of Medicine, Apr 2019
- Invited lecture International Conference on Frailty and Sarcopenia Research, Miami Fl, Feb 2019
- Invited visiting Professorship and lecture: Ecola Polytechnique Federale Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland (Swiss Institute for Life Sciences), May 2019
- Certificate of Appreciation from the Center of Scientific Review, National Institutes of Health for 5 years of National Service to the NIH, June 2019
- Invited Speaker: Department of Medicine Grand Rounds, Baylor College of Medicine
- Invited Speaker: Geriatrics Grand Rounds, Baylor College of Medicine, Dec 2018
- Invited Speaker at the Annual Scientific Meeting of the Texas Geriatrics Society

Zhang, Li, M.D.

- 2018 Diabetes Education and Action Foundation Research Award: Using an Antigen-Specific Monoclonal Antibody to Modulate Islet Autoimmunity and Reprogram the Development of Type 1 Diabetes.
- ACR Workshop on Integrative Molecular Epidemiology, Boston, MA