





1955







Otolaryngology Residency







Fellowship UTMB

1960-1961 1962

1960-1961 Neurophysiology

Fellowship

University

Special Fellow,

Johns Hopkins

Assistant Professor BUMC

Professor and Chairman Otorhinolaryngology and

1967











1973-1977

Campaign for

Neurosensory

Center, joint

collaboration of

raised privately

BCM & TMH – all funds



1975

Center

Groundbreaking

Neurosensory







Dedication Neurosensory Center







President of ACO and AAO – consolidation of two under his

1981



1985

ABO

President



1985

BCM

Distinguished



1987

The Johns

Hopkins

University

1988

Executive

Vice President

Medicine BCM Citation

And Dean of

1989

AAO-HNS

Presidential



Department Named in his





1997 Chairman of the Board NSBRI

1999

AORN of

Surgeon

Award

Greater Houston

Distinguished



2005

Ben and Margaret **Love Foundation** Bobby R. Alford Award for Academic Clinical Professionalism



BCM

Distinguished Society Society for

Presidential Head and

Surgery Presidential Citation

Interim

Chairman

Surgery BCM

Alford and Simpson Elected to Institute of Medicine

1994

of Medicine of the National Academies Service Medal

NASA Distinguished Public

Margaret Alkek Foundation Board of Directors

1995

Albert and

Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery BCM

1996

Chair

Chair for Research in Sensory System Integration and Space Medicine

2000

Friedkin

2003

American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics Jeffries Aerospace Medicine & Life Sciences Research Award





Bobby R. Alford, MD **Endowed Research Grant** established by AAO-HNS in honor of his contributions to AAO-HNSF and the specialty

