menu
BCM - Baylor College of Medicine

Giving life to possible

Alkek Center for Metagenomics and Microbiome Research

Projects

ProjectViral Associations with Type 1 Diabetes
Association: nPOD (Network for pancreatic Organ Donors with Diabetes) 
University Association: University of Florida 
Emailhttp://www.jdrfnpod.org/

Project: The GI Microbiome
Association: Lynn Bry, Partners Healthcare
University Association: Harvard Medical School 
Emaillbry@partners.org

ProjectEnteroviruses, Type 1 Diabetes and the Human Microbiome
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine 
Collaborator Name: Richard Lloyd, Ph.D.
Emailrlloyd@bcm.edu

ProjectContributions of the Maternal-Fetal Mitochondrial Genome and Microbiome Interactions to Preterm Birth
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Kjersti Aagaard, M.D. 
Emailaagaardt@bcm.edu

ProjectThe GI Microbiome and Norwalk/Norovirus infection
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Mary K. Estes, Ph.D.
Emailmestes@bcm.edu

ProjectThe Respiratory Microbiome and Cystic Fibrosis
University Association: University of Michigan
Collaborator Name: John J. LiPuma, M.D.
Emailjlipuma@umich.edu

ProjectMeningitis Etiologic Agent Discovery and Diagnosis
University Association: UT Health
Collaborator Name: Rodrigo Hasbun, M.D.
EmailRodrigo.Hasbun@uth.tmc.edu

Project: Ocular Surface Microbiome Project 
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Dan B. Jones, M.D. and Stephen C Pflugfelder, M.D.
Emaildbj@bcm.edu

ProjectThe Microbiome and Type 1 Diabetes
University Association: The University of Florida College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Mark Atkinson, Ph.D.
Emailatkinson@ufl.edu

ProjectThe Microbiome and Human Decomposition
University Association: Sam Houston State University 
Collaborator Name: Sibyl Bucheli, Ph.D. and Aaron Lynne, Ph.D.
Emailbucheli@shsu.edu

ProjectInfectious and Microbiome Associations with Asthma
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: David B. Corry, M.D.
Emaildcorry@bcm.edu

Project: IgA, Rotavirus Infection and the Commensal Microbiota 
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Margaret E. Conner, Ph.D.
Emailmconner@bcm.edu

ProjectTAK1 Impact on Microbiome Structure
University Association: The Methodist Hospital Research Institute
Collaborator Name: Rongfu Wang, Ph.D.
Emailrwang3@tmhs.org

ProjectNutrition, IBD and the Microbiome
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine 
Collaborator Name: Richard Kellermayer, M.D.
Emailkellerma@bcm.edu

Project: Role of MK5 Gene in Colitis 
Association: Lexicon Pharmaceuticals
Collaborator Name: David Harris, Ph.D.
Emaildpharris@lexpharma.com

ProjectNitrate Reduction, Cardiovascular Health and the Oral Microbiome 
University Association: UTHSC and Texas Therapeutics Institute 
Collaborator Name: Nathan S. Bryan, Ph.D.
EmailNathan.Bryan@uth.tmc.edu

ProjectThe Role of Microbiome in the Ginseng Metabolism and Cancer
University Association: University of Houston College of Pharmacy - Texas Medical Center
Collaborator Name: Ming Hu, Ph.D.
Emailmhu@uh.edu

ProjectMicrobiome Interactions to Preterm Birth
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Kjersti Aagaard, M.D. 
Emailaagaardt@bcm.edu

ProjectThe Microbiome in Colorectal Cancer and Pre-Cancerous Polyp Biopsies 
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Hashem El Serag, M.D.
Emailhasheme@bcm.edu

ProjectMetagenomic Analyses of the Alcohol Induced Pathogenic Alterations in the Intestinal Microbiome and Liver Injury and Prevention by Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG Treatment 
University Association: University of Louisville
Collaborator Name: Shirish Barve, Ph.D.
Emailshirish.barve@louisville.edu

Project: The Microbiome in Health and Disease in Aging Populations of Kazakhstan 
University Association: Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan
Collaborator Name: Almagul R. Kushugulova, D.M.Sc.
Emailakushugulova@nu.edu.kz

ProjectMicrobiome Associations with Preterm Birth 
University Association: Michigan State University
Collaborator Name: Claudia Holzman-Marsh, D.V.M., M.P.H., Ph.D.
Emailholzman@msu.edu

ProjectModels for Colitis and the Microbiome 
University Association: University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Collaborator Name: Sara M. Dann, Ph.D.
Emailsmdann@utmb.edu

Project: Etiologic Agent Discovery
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine 
Collaborator Name: David A Wheeler, Ph.D. 
Emailwheeler@bcm.edu

Project: IgA Deficiency and Microbiome
University Association: Albany Medical College
Collaborator Name: Dennis Metzger, Ph.D.
EmailMetzged@mail.amc.edu

Project: Microbiome Studies in Underserved Communities 
University Association: University of Texas School of Public Health
Collaborator Name: Eric Brown, Ph.D.
EmailEric.L.Brown@uth.tmc.edu

Project: HIV and the Oral Microbiome
University Association: University of Texas Dental
Collaborator Name: Gena Tribble, Ph.D.
EmailGena.D.Tribble@uth.tmc.edu

Project: Impact of Sugar Substitutes on the Human Microbiome
University Association: MD Anderson - Bastrop
Collaborator Name: Greg Wilkerson, D.V.M.
EmailGKWilkerson@mdanderson.org

Project: With Nathan Bryan Project
University Association: University of Texas Health Science Center
Collaborator Name: Heidi Kaplan, Ph.D.
EmailHeidi.b.kaplan@uth.tmc.edu

Project: The Microbiome Associated with Health and Disease in Multiple Primate Models
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Jeffrey Rogers, Ph.D.
Emailjr13@bcm.edu

Project: HIV and the Lung Microbiome
University Association: Universidad del Norte, Colombia
Collaborator Name: Homero San Juan, M.D., Ph.D.
Emailhsanjuan@uninorte.edu.co

ProjectGI Microbiome Alterations During Chemotherapy
University Association: MD Anderson Cancer Center
Collaborator Name: Javier A. Adachi, M.D.
Emailjaadachi@mdanderson.org

ProjectBronchiolitis Severity and the Nasopharyngeal Microbiome
University Association: Harvard University
Collaborator Name: Jonathan Mansbach, M.D., Ph.D.
EmailJonathan.Mansbach@childrens.harvard.edu

Project: Understanding How Commensal Bacteria Shape Host Immune System Development and Responses
University Association: University of Utah
Collaborator Name: June Round, Ph.D.
Emailjune.round@path.utah.edu

Project: Etiologic Agent Discovery
University Association: MD Anderson Cancer Center
Collaborator Name: Khanh Thi-Thuy Nguyen, M.D.
EmailKTNguyen1@mdanderson.org

Project: Microbiome Associations with Various Cancers
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Melissa Bondy, Ph.D.
Emailmbondy@bcm.edu

Project: Microbiome Associations with Various Cancers
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine 
Collaborator Name: Michael Scheurer, Ph.D.
Emailscheurer@bcm.edu

ProjectMicrobiome Development and Association with Disease
University Association: University of Michigan Medical School
Collaborator Name: Patrick Schloss, Ph.D.
Emailpschloss@umich.edu

Project: Collaborates on Dr. Mansbach Project
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine 
Collaborator Name: Pedro Piedra, M.D.
Emailppiedra@bcm.edu

Project: Metagenomic Analysis of Uveitis
University Association: National Institute of Health 
Collaborator Name: Rachael Caspi, Ph.D.
Emailbladescr@mail.nih.gov

Project: Human/ Pediatrics
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine 
Collaborator Name: Richard Kellermayer, M.D., Ph.D.
Emailkellerma@bcm.edu

ProjectThe Microbiome in Animal and Environmental Systems
University Association: University of Colorado, Boulder 
Collaborator Name: Rob Knight, Ph.D.
Emailrob@spot.colorado.edu

Project: The GI Microbiome and Gnotobiotic Models of Disease
University Association: Texas A&M Health Science Center - Bryan 
Collaborator Name: Robert Alaniz, Ph.D.
Email: Alaniz@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Project: Microbiome Association with Colitis and Autism
University Association: California Institute of Technology 
Collaborator Name: Sarkis Mazmanian, Ph.D.
Emailsarkis@caltech.edu

Project: Etiologic Agent Discovery for Pediatric Diseases
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital
Collaborator Name: Sheldon L. Kaplan, M.D.
Emailskaplan@bcm.edu

Project Title: GI-Cancer/Inflammation
University Association: City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Collaborator Name: Sumanta Pal, M.D.
EmailSPal@coh.org

Project: Inflammation, Auto-Immunity and the Microbiome
University Association: Boston Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School
Collaborator Name: Talal Chatila, M.D.
EmailTalal.Chatila@childrens.harvard.edu

Project: Metagenomic Studies of Aquatic Disease
University Association: Sam Houston State University
Collaborator Name: Todd Primm, Ph.D.
Emailtpp001@shsu.edu

Project: The GI Microbiome
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital
Collaborator Name: Versalovic James, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: jamesv@bcm.edu

ProjectDietary Impact on the Microbiome and their Association with Cancer
University Association: Iowa State University
Collaborator Name: Gregory J. Phillips, M.D.
Email:

Project: Clostridium Difficile and Travelers' Diarrhea Disease and Intervention
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Herbert L. DuPont, M.D.
Emailhdupont@bcm.edu

Project: A Preliminary Comparison of the Distal Gut Microbiome from HIV Infected Before and After HAART 
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Lara Bull-Otterson, Ph.D.
Emailbull@bcm.edu

Project: The Microbiome and Type 1 Diabetes 
University Association: University of South Florida 
Collaborator Name: TEDDY
Email:

Project: Microbiome Associations with Multiple Sclerosis
University Association: Harvard University
Collaborator Name: Howard Weiner, M.D.
Emailhweiner@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Project: Organismal Shift in the MECP2 Duplication Syndrome
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital
Collaborator Name: Melissa Ramocki, M.D., Ph.D.
Emailmramocki@bcm.edu

Project: Microbiome Associations with Travelers' Diarrhea 
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Sarah Highlander, Ph.D.
Emailsarahh@bcm.edu