2004 Faculty Recognition & Awards

Tom Baranowski, Ph.D.
Recognized, Who's Who in America, 59th Edition, 2005.

Recognized, Dictionary of International Biography, 31st Edition, 2004.

Recognized, 2000 Eminent Scientists of Today – 1st Edition, 2003.

Dennis M. Bier, M.D.
Appointed member, McDonald's Corporation Global Scientific Advisory Council, July 2003.

Appointed independent science expert media resource, International Food Information Council, January 2004.

Elected fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, February 2004.

Awarded, Distinguished Service Award, Washington University, St. Louis, March 2004.

Appointed member, External Advisory Board, Pennington Biomedical Research Center, Louisiana State University, April 2004.

Appointed member, Institute of Medicine Committee on Adolescent Health and Development, April 2004.

Elected president-elect, American Society for Nutritional Sciences, April 2004.

Douglas Burrin, Ph.D.
Appointed member, American Society of Nutritional Sciences Long-range Planning Committee, July 2003.

Reappointed member, editorial board, Journal of Nutrition, July 2003.

Appointed member, NIH-NIDDK Study Section, Small Clinical Research Grants in Digestive Diseases and Nutrition, November 2003.

Nancy F. Butte, Ph.D.
Appointed member, editorial board, American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, July 2003.

Appointed member, Start Healthy Feeding Guidelines for Infants and Toddlers panel, American Dietetic Association and Gerber Foods, July 2003.

Appointed member, working group on Human Protein Requirements, WHO/FAO/UNU, 2002-2004.

Elected treasurer, American Society of Clinical Nutrition, July 2001-2004.

Appointed chair, Growth References for Preadolescents and Adolescents, FAO/WHO/UNU, July 2003.

Teresa A. Davis, Ph.D.
Appointed member, editorial board, Journal of Animal Science, July 2003.

Elected, Counselor, American Society for Nutritional Sciences, July 2003.

Appointed member, Integrative Nutrition and Metabolic Processes Study Section, NIH, June 2004.

Kenneth Ellis, Ph.D.
Appointed co-editor, International Journal of Body Composition Research, December 2003.

Jennifer Orlet Fisher, Ph.D.
Appointed scientific advisor, International Life Science Institute (ILSI) Lifestyles and Weight Management committee, September 2003.

Michael A. Grusak, Ph.D.
Appointed adjunct member, graduate faculty, Department of Horticulture, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, June 2004.

Morey W. Haymond, M.D.
Appointed member, books committee, American Diabetes Association, July 2003.

Appointed member, editorial board, Diabetes, January 2004.

William C. Heird, M.D.
Elected fellow, American Society for Nutritional Sciences, May 2004.

Karen K. Hirschi, Ph.D.
Recipient, Established Investigator Award, AHA Foundation, 2004 – 2009.

Theresa A. Nicklas, Dr.P.H.
Appointed member, Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee, July 2003.

Appointed member, DMI Scientific Advisory Committee, July 2003.

Robert Shulman, M.D.
Awarded, Texas Children’s Hospital Foundation Endowed Chair in Pediatric Gastroenterology, January 2004.

Appointed member, John P. McGovern Museum of Health and Medical Science Medical Advisory Committee, July 2003.

Elected member, American Board of Pediatrics, July 2003.

Elected chairman, Subboard in Pediatric Gastroenterology, American Board of Pediatrics, July 2003.

Ignatia B. Van den Veyver, M.D.
Recipient, Aicardi Syndrome Foundation donation for research on Aicardi syndrome, January 2004.

Recipient, Certificate of Appreciation for Excellence in Resident Education, Baylor College of Medicine Senior Ob-Gyn Residents, June 2004.


CNRC Home | BCM Public Site | BCM Intranet | Privacy Notices
© 2004 Baylor College of Medicine
USDA/ARS Children's Nutrition Research Center
1100 Bates Street, Houston, Texas 77030

Phone: (713) 798-7002 | Fax: (713) 798-7098
Houston, TX 77030

Contact Webmaster
Modified April 19, 2004


CNRC Faculty

Faculty Research Interests

Academic Activities

Faculty Recognition


Research Grants

PDF of this report