Dr. Michael Coburn was named chair of the Scott Department of Urology at Baylor College of Medicine by the BCM Board of Trustees Wednesday.

Coburn has served as interim chair of urology since July 2008. He has been a member of the BCM faculty since 1990, serving as residency program director since 2000 and as vice chair for academic affairs since 2007.

"Mike has done an excellent job as interim chair," said Dr. Paul Klotman, president and CEO of BCM. "I believe he will be a strong leader who can implement a number of new growth initiatives for the department during the coming years."

"I look forward to the privilege of pursuing our growth and development with my colleagues," said Coburn.

Clinically, Coburn specializes in urologic trauma, reconstructive surgery, and male reproductive medicine and surgery. He maintains an active practice at the Baylor Clinic. His clinical research focuses on improving techniques for management of urologic trauma and reconstructive surgery of the genitourinary tract. He has published extensively in these areas.

Coburn is a professor of urology and chief of the urology service at Ben Taub General Hospital. Additionally, he holds the Carlton-Smith Chair in Urologic Education. He is chair of the Graduate Medical Education Committee at Baylor, and immediate past-chair of the Academy of Distinguished Educators.

He has received numerous awards, including the Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson, Jr., Presidential Award for Excellence in Education and the Fulbright & Jaworski LLP Faculty Excellence Award on three occasions.

He is currently the vice chair and chair elect of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education residency review committee for urology. Coburn serves on the Board of Governors of the American College of Surgeons, and the Board of Directors of the Society of Genitourinary Reconstructive Surgeons, and the Society of University Urologists.

Coburn received a bachelor’s degree from Cornell University and medical degree from New York University School of Medicine. He completed a surgery internship, urology residency and American Foundation for Urologic Disease Scholars Program fellowship training in male reproductive medicine and surgery at BCM