Dr. Benjamin Archer, professor of radiology at Baylor College of Medicine, has received the American College of Medical Physics Marvin M.D. Williams Professional Achievement Award – the highest honor bestowed by the organization.

The American College of Medical Physics award is given annually to a member of the organization who has made a significant contribution to the field of medical physics during his/or her career.

Including Archer, BCM researchers have received three of the total 22 awards ever given. Dr. Walter H. Grant, associate professor of radiology at BCM, won the award in 2010 and Dr. Stewart Bushong, professor of radiology at BCM, in 2002.

"Dr. Archer is an internationally recognized medical physicist who has made extraordinary contributions to medical imaging," said Bushong, who nominated him for the award. "He has served our profession as a leader in education, research and professional development."

Bushong noted Archer’s introduction of a new method of x-ray imaging, called the "Archer Method," to help diagnostic radiologists better interpret images and keep radiation exposure for the patient at a minimum.

Archer also serves as radiation safety officer at the Harris County Hospital District’s Ben Taub General Hospital.