BCM Family
for Faculty, Staff and Trainees
Volume 7, Issue 8
August 2010

News Briefs

O'Malley, Matzuk honored at national ENDO meeting

Two Baylor College of Medicine scientists received 2010 Laureate Awards from The Endocrine Society at the group's recent annual meeting.

Dr. Bert O'Malley, add link to his bio chair of molecular and cellular biology at BCM and a National Medal of Science winner, received the Robert H. Williams Distinguished Leadership Award at the most recent annual meeting of The Endocrine Society in Boston.

The award is presented in recognition of outstanding leadership in fundamental or clinical endocrinology as exemplified by the recipient's contributions, and those of his trainees and associates, to teaching, research and administration. The award includes an honorarium of $5,000.

O'Malley's research focuses on nuclear receptors, steroid hormones and their activity and master cells known as coactivators and corepressors. His laboratory has been a leader in uncovering the mode of action of the female sex steroids progesterone and estrogen. O'Malley has mentored more than 300 students, fellows and faculty and his sustained research leadership has resulted in over 700 peer-reviewed publications and 22 patents. He holds the Thomas C. Thompson Chair in Cell Biology.

Dr. Martin Matzuk, add link to his bio professor of molecular and cellular biology at BCM, delivered the Roy O. Greep Award Lecture at a plenary session of the same meeting. The award is presented for outstanding contributions to research in endocrinology. Work in Matzuk's laboratory centers on finding and understanding the action of critical proteins involved in both normal and abnormal reproductive development. Matzuk holds the Stuart A. Wallace Chair in the BCM department of pathology and immunology.

BCM student selected for research fellowship

Adam Gomez, a fourth-year medical student at Baylor College of Medicine has been selected as one of 74 medical and veterinary students from across the country to participate in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute Medical Research Fellowship.

The year-long research opportunity gives students an opportunity to consider whether they want to pursue a career as a physician-scientist. Gomez was selected from a pool of 274 applicants, the largest number of applicants in the history of the program.

"I feel honored to be selected by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute to further my understanding of the neurodegenerative mechanisms involved in Alzheimer's disease," said Gomez, whose research will focus on molecular studies related to Alzheimer's disease with Dr. Mariella De Biasi, associate professor of neuroscience at BCM.

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute plays a powerful role in advancing scientific research and education in the United States. Its scientists have made important discoveries that advance both human health and our fundamental understanding of biology. The Institute also aims to transform science education into a creative, interdisciplinary endeavor that reflects the excitement of real research.

Developmental Pediatrics section names annual "best residents"

The Section of Developmental Pediatrics at BCM recently named the best residents of 2008-2009 and 2009-2010. Named for Dr. Jan Goddard-Finegold, a retired BCM pediatrics faculty member, the award recognizes the best resident during the month rotation in developmental pediatrics. Dr. Anna Vershaw received the award for 2008 – 2009 and Dr. Kareen Smith received the award for 2009 to 2010.

This is the fourth year the section has presented the award.

Lerner elected to American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons

Dr. Seth P. Lerner, professor of urology at BCM, has been elected to active membership in the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons. The AAGUS organization, founded in New York City in 1886, is made up of surgeons from the United States or Canada who have distinguished themselves in the field of urology. Active membership in this prestigious organization is limited to 75 surgeons.