BCM Family NewsLink, Dec. 17, 2010

Please submit items for the weekly BCM Family Newslink to Dana Benson.

Awards and Recognitions

Parsley elected to leadership of association

Dr. Brian Parsley Dr. Brian Parsley, associate professor of orthopedic surgery, was recently elected to the presidential line as third vice president by the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons at its annual meeting in Dallas.

Parsley is also chief of the division of adult reconstruction and total joint arthroplasty and is the director of the Adult Reconstruction Fellowship Program for Baylor College of Medicine. He is committed to philanthropic efforts and has been recognized for 16 years of charitable medical mission work to help those in need.

The American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons provides leadership in advocacy, education and research to achieve excellence in hip and knee patient care.


Holiday choir performance

BCM Holiday ChoirThe Tuesday Musical Club, a singing group comprised of staff from the department of molecular and cellular biology, presented a holiday concert on Dec. 10 in Rayzor Lounge. Dr. Bert O'Malley, chair of the department, introduced the group and served as host of the event.

College News

Honey-Baked Ham and holiday closures

For those who ordered items from Honey-Baked Ham through the BCM Intranet, donít forget that your order will be available for pick up on Dec. 22 from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Cullen Circle. BCM will be closed on Friday, Dec. 24, and Monday, Dec. 27. Have a safe and happy holiday!

BCM co-sponsored breast cancer symposium wraps up annual meeting

The San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium, which is co-sponsored and co-organized by Baylor College of Medicine, wrapped up its 33rd annual meeting on Dec. 12. The largest breast cancer meeting in the world, it joined together more than 8,000 breast cancer clinicians, researchers, patient advocates, survivors and industry representatives to discuss the latest advances in basic science research and patient care.

Dr. Kent Osborne, director of the Dan L Duncan Cancer Center at BCM, has served as co-director of the symposium since 1992. He also serves on the symposium planning committee, along with Drs. Gary C. Chamness, Susan G. Hilsenbeck, Michael Lewis, Yi Li, Mothaffar Rimawi and Rachel Schiff, all faculty members in the Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center at BCM.

This year, Drs. Sharon Plon and Schiff participated in educational sessions. Dr. Jeffrey Rosen gave the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction Lecture, and Dr. Suzanne Fuqua gave a "Year in Review" lecture on the last day of the conference.

Photo slideshow of the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium.

Previous | Auto/Stop | Next

San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium

Faculty in the News

BCM faculty members are regularly featured or cited in news and media outlets. Check out this week's faculty in the news.