BCM Family NewsLink, May 13, 2011

Please submit items for the weekly BCM Family Newslink to Dana Benson.

Awards and Recognitions

Vrabec named President of American Neurotology Society

Dr. Jeffrey T. VrabecDr. Jeffrey T. Vrabec, associate professor of otolaryngology – head and neck surgery, was named president of the American Neurotology Society at the 46th Annual Spring meeting in Chicago on May 1. Vrabec became a Fellow member of the society in 1995 and has served as the secretary-treasurer from 2007 to 2010. A national organization, the ANS provides high-quality continuing medical education to its members and strives to enhance participants' knowledge and clinical competence in subject areas relevant to the field of neurotology.

Dr. Vrabec joined the Bobby R. Alford Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery in 2001.

Petersen elected to physicians' association

Dr. Laura PetersenDr. Laura Petersen, professor of medicine and chief of the section of health services research in the department of medicine, was elected to the Association of American Physicians Class of 2011. Petersen's induction occurred at the American Society for Clinical Investigation/AAP Joint Meeting on Saturday, April 16, in Chicago.

The AAP is a nonprofit, professional organization founded in 1885 by seven physicians for the advancement of scientific and practical medicine. Applicants must be nominated by two current members and voted on by the AAP Council. The AAP has 1,200 current active members from the United States, Canada and other countries.


BCM to host first annual Out of the Darkness Walk

The first annual Out of Darkness Walk will be held Sunday, May 22, starting at the Cullen Building and winding through the medical center. The walk raises awareness about suicide and suicide prevention in the Houston community. For more information or to register for the walk, visit Baylor College of Medicine Campus Walk.

College News

Faculty recognized with Educator Awards

The annual Educator Awards ceremony was held May 10 in Cullen Auditorium, followed by a brunch for the recipients. More than 50 faculty members were recognized with the Robertson Presidential Award, the McGovern Award, Fulbright & Jaworski Faculty Excellence Award, and the 2011 Graduating Class Outstanding Faculty Award. View all the award recipients online. A new portrait of Corbin Robertson and his wife, Barbara, now hanging in Cullen Auditorium, was unveiled at the ceremony.

Photo slideshow of Educator Awards 2011

Previous | Auto/Stop | Next

Educator Awards 2011

Faculty in the News

BCM faculty members are regularly featured or cited in news and media outlets. Check out this week's faculty in the news.