Student Corner: Mason DePasse

Sept. 1, 2011

Dr. Bert O'Malley and Mason DePass
Dr. Bert O'Malley and Mason DePass
  • Fourth-year medical student
  • DeBakey Scholar Award recipient

Mason DePasse was honored with the DeBakey Scholar Award, receiving the recognition during the first-year medical student orientation in July.

The DeBakey Scholar Award recognizes a fourth-year medical student who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship as well as integrity, academic leadership and service.

Established in 1973, the award is a tribute to the late Dr. Michael E. DeBakey, for all he has meant for BCM including founding the school, his leadership as professor of surgery, president and chancellor, his fundraising and his overall role in the development of the Texas Medical Center.

The student selected to receive the award should be a "living model of excellence" in residence for the incoming first-year class and other medical students at BCM.

DePasse graduated from Stanford University with a major in biology and a minor in economics. He received an academic full tuition scholarship to BCM as well as the Rosa May Griffin Presidential Excellence Award. During his years at BCM, he has served as a teaching assistant for the basic science neurology course, a leader and member of the admissions committee and a leader with the American Medical Association /Texas Medical Association and a sports medicine volunteer in local races including the Houston marathon.

He hopes to do his residency in orthopedic surgery and has been involved in orthopedic research with the Institute of Orthopedic Research and Education, Baylor Orthopedic Surgical Society and the Student Surgical Society.

The award includes a commemorative plaque and an honorarium to be used for activities which further the student's education.