The Albert and Margaret Alkek Foundation honors Dr. Danny B. Jones, chair of ophthalmology at Baylor College of Medicine, with a lead gift of $500,000 to establish an endowed chair in his name.

The Danny B. Jones Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology recognizes Jones' 30 years service as chair of the department and 40 years with the College.

Recognizing contributions

"Danny is an established leader in the field of ophthalmology. As one of our founding directors, his leadership and experience has been invaluable," said Scott B. Seaman, executive director of the Alkek Foundation. "Danny is a great friend and we are more than delighted to recognize his various contributions through establishment of this chair."

The Alkek Foundation has contributed more than $92 million to support research and clinical care at the College. The Department of Ophthalmology has been of particular interest not only to the Foundation, but to one of its founders Albert B. Alkek. The Alkek Eye Center was established in 1989 and was the first clinical practice to move to BCM's McNair Campus in 2008.

Long-time support

Charles Williams, president of the Alkek Foundation and grandson of Mr. Alkek, said "My grandfather suffered from severe age-related macular degeneration and was grateful for the care he received from Danny. He developed the utmost trust in his abilities as a physician and, over the years, they developed a deep friendship. I'm sure many people feel the same way my grandfather did about Danny and will also honor him by helping to fully fund this chair.

BCM President Dr. Paul Klotman applauded the Foundation's longtime support of the College.

"The Alkek Foundation has been a champion of the work of Baylor College of Medicine and its faculty for many years, Klotman said. "The Danny B. Jones Endowed Chair is a wonderful recognition for this outstanding department chair. We are grateful to the Foundation for its continuing support."

Jones joined the faculty of BCM in 1972 and was appointed department chair in 1981. An expert in cornea and external eye disease, he has received many honors and recognitions, including Distinguished Service Professor at BCM. He is the Sid W. Richardson Professor of Ophthalmology and the Margaret Root Brown Chair of Ophthalmology.

He received both undergraduate and medical degrees from Duke University. He completed residency training at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute at the University of Miami.