Baylor College of Medicine

Dr. Nancy P. Moreno

Dr. Nancy Moreno named an AAAS 2018 fellow

Julia Bernstein


Houston, TX -

Dr. Nancy P. Moreno of Baylor College of Medicine has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed on AAAS members by their peers.

This year, 416 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin representing science and engineering, respectively, on Saturday, Feb. 16, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

This year’s AAAS fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Nov. 29, 2018.

“I am deeply honored to receive this recognition from AAAS, which has provided national leadership and innovation to improve access by all learners to pathways in science, technology, engineering and mathematics,” Moreno said.

Moreno, professor of health professions and family and community medicine, was elected as an AAAS fellow for her distinguished contributions to K-12 education and partnerships, assessment and science and health curriculum development. Her educational roles at Baylor include serving as associate provost of faculty development and institutional research and senior associate director of the Center for Educational Outreach.

The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution) or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected. AAAS fellow’s lifetime honor comes with an expectation that recipients maintain the highest standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the association, chaired by the AAAS president and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

Back to topback-to-top