Baylor College of Medicine

Diversity champion to give Baylor College of Medicine commencement address

Dipali Pathak


Houston, TX -
Media Component
Marc A. Nivet, Ed.D., MBA

Dr. Marc Nivet, executive vice president of institutional advancement at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, will give the commencement address to Baylor College of Medicine graduates from the School of Medicine and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences on Tuesday, May 30. The commencement ceremony will be held at the Jesse H. Jones Hall for Performing Arts at 615 Louisiana St. and will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Nivet previously served as the chief diversity officer for the Association of American Medical Colleges. In his current role, he is responsible for developing and overseeing a comprehensive and coordinated strategic agenda to promote and advance UT Southwestern’s mission and goals.

As chief diversity officer for the AAMC, he provided strategic and programmatic leadership on issues surrounding community engagement, diversity and health equity at universities, medical schools and teaching hospitals across the United States and Canada.

Nivet has spent more than 20 years in academic medicine developing creative program initiatives and innovative approaches to the mission of excellence in research, education and patient care.

Prior to joining the AAMC, Nivet served as the chief operating officer and treasurer for the Josiah Macy, Jr. Foundation, which fosters innovation in health professional education that aligns workforce training with the dynamic needs of patients. He also served as a special assistant to the senior vice president for health at New York University and held management positions with the Sallie Mae Fund and the Associated Medical Schools of New York.

Nivet holds a Bachelor of Science in Communication Studies from Southern Connecticut State University; a Master of Science in Higher Education and Student Development from Long Island University, CW Post Campus; a Doctorate in Higher Education Management from the University of Pennsylvania School of Education; and a Master of Business Administration in Health Care Management from George Washington University School of Business.

Also at the commencement ceremony, four honorary degrees will be presented.

The Doctor of Humanities in Medicine degree is awarded to individuals who have provided exceptional support or service, either directly or indirectly, to Baylor College of Medicine or to academic medicine as a whole. The commencement speaker, Dr. Marc A. Nivet, is one of the recipients this year.

Dr. Jyoti Malhan is the founding principal of the Baylor College of Medicine Academy at Ryan, a magnet middle school in the Houston Independent School District. A native of northern India, Malhan moved to Houston for a teaching job where she learned about the struggles that children face in poverty-stricken school districts. She was named the magnet coordinator for Booker T. Washington High School for Engineering Professions in HISD in 2008 and co-founder and dean of instruction at the Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy in HISD in 2011. As the founding principal of the Baylor College of Medicine Academy at Ryan, she recruited students and faculty members through comprehensive citywide efforts to successfully launch the school in a period of just three months. The school received an A+ rating from Children at Risk and has been the recipient of all seven Texas Education Agency distinctions. In 2016, Malhan was named a finalist for HISD Principal of the Year. The Baylor College of Medicine Academy at Ryan recently received the Magnet Schools of America President’s Award, one of the organization’s top national awards, and was honored with a Magnet Schools of Excellence Award.

Marc J. Shapiro is a native Houstonian who completed his undergraduate degree at Harvard University and received his M.B.A. from Stanford Business School. He began his banking career in 1972 at Texas Commerce Bank and served as chief financial officer beginning in 1977. After the bank was purchased by J.P. Morgan Chase in 1989, he was named chief executive officer of the statewide organization. He then moved to New York to work for the parent company in 1997 as vice chair for finance and risk management. He currently serves as non-executive chair of Chase Bank of Texas and the director of Kimberly-Clark Corp., the Mexico Fund and Weingarten Realty Investors. A strong believer in the importance of the Texas Medical Center, he is past chair of the Board of Trustees of Baylor College of Medicine and past chair of the Board of Visitors of MD Anderson Cancer Center and continues to serve on the boards of both institutions. He also currently serves as chair of the board of the Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center. His past board service includes the Menninger Clinic, Sabin Vaccine Institute, Texas Medical Center, BioHouston and the Harris County Hospital District.

The Doctor of Letters in Medicine is awarded to physicians (M.D.) or research scientists (Ph.D.) who have excelled in medicine through teaching, research or public service and whose acts have brought credit or advancement to Baylor College of Medicine or to the profession of academic medicine.

Dr. Norbert W. Bischofberger joined Gilead Sciences in 1990 as director of organic chemistry and currently serves as the executive vice president of research and development and chief scientific officer. Gilead Sciences, Inc. is a research-based biopharmaceutical company that discovers, develops and commercializes innovative medicines in areas of unmet medical need. Bischofberger was one of the inventors of the antiviral drug Tamiflu, the first oral medication to treat influenza. He led a team that developed the drug in the 1990s. He has authored more than 120 publications and is the inventor of 20 patents. He also is a member of the American Chemical Society, the International Society for Antiviral Research, the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Society for Microbiology.

Back to topback-to-top