Baylor College of Medicine

Board of Trustees appoints two endowed chairs

Dipali Pathak


Houston, TX -

The Baylor College of Medicine Board of Trustees this week appointed two faculty members to endowed chair positions.

Dr. James Martin, professor of molecular physiology and biophysics, was named the Vivian L. Smith Chair in Regenerative Medicine II. Martin is an expert in cardiac development and stem cell therapy and has made major contributions to both fields.

Dr. Jeffrey Sutton, professor of medicine and director of the Center for Space Medicine, was appointed to the Friedkin Chair for Research in Sensory System Integration and Space Medicine. Sutton is also the president and institute director of the National Space Biomedical Research Institute, a research consortium focused on countermeasures to health-related challenges in space exploration, which has a strategic collaboration with BCM’s Center for Space Medicine.

Back to topback-to-top