Baylor College of Medicine in Houston has announced the winners of the Ninth Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award. Chosen from original poems submitted by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools, this annual competition honors Dr. DeBakey, premier cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist and inventor, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, international medical statesman, and impassioned humanitarian.

The winners are:

  • First place cash prize of $1,000 "Intimacy," by Daniel Grosser, Northeast Ohio Medical University
  • Second place cash prize of $500 "My Almost Autumn Moon," by Kory Benjamin Combs, Duke University School of Medicine
  • Third place cash prize of $250 "In A Blue Mourning (Camille Monet on her deathbed)," by Sara Trowbridge, Harvard Medical School

The DeBakey Medical Foundation provides the funds for the cash prizes. The first place poem will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication.