a physician a building location a clinical trial a department
BCM - Baylor College of Medicine

Giving life to possible

Baylor College of Medicine News

BCM announces 10th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Awards

Baylor College of Medicine in Houston has announced the winners of the 10th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award. They were chosen from original poems submitted by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools. This annual competition honors the legendary Dr. DeBakey, premier cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist and inventor, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, international medical statesman, and impassioned humanitarian.

The winners are: 

  • First place cash prize of $1,000 - "Gnosis," by Shekinah Elmore, Harvard Medical School
  • Second place cash prize of $500 – "Tomorrow," by Hang Ho, University of Arizona College of Medicine
  • Third place cash prize of $250 – "The Garden," by Paul Thomas, Wayne State University School of Medicine

The DeBakey Medical Foundation sponsors this program. The first place poem will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication.