Baylor College of Medicine in Houston has announced the winners of the 11th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award. They were chosen from original poems submitted by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools. This annual competition honors the legendary Dr. DeBakey, premier cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist and inventor, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, international medical statesman, and impassioned humanitarian.

The winners are:

-First place cash prize of $1,000 – “Space for Donation,” by Megana Dwarakanath, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School.

-Second place cash prize of $500 – “The Age of Magicians,” by Katharine Lawrence, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Florida International University.

-Third place cash prize of $250 – “Sirens,” by Ting Gou, University of Michigan Medical School.

The DeBakey Medical Foundation sponsors this program. The first place poem will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication.