Baylor College of Medicine has announced the winners of the 15th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award. They were chosen from original poems submitted by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools. This annual competition honors the legendary Dr. DeBakey, premier cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist and inventor, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, international medical statesman and impassioned humanitarian.

The winners are:

  • First place cash prize of $1,000: “nick in time,” by Matthew Lee, Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
  • Second place cash prize of $500: “Grief, and other remedies,” by Elaine Hsiang, University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
  • Third place cash prize of $250: “Fatherhood,” by Allyson Brown, University of Central Florida College of Medicine

The DeBakey Medical Foundation sponsors this program. The first-place poem will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication.