aboutus-debakey-museum-history (320x240)
Dr. Michael E. DeBakey

Baylor College of Medicine announces the 14th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Awards.

This annual contest honors the legendary, preeminent cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, and passionate advocate of optimal healthcare throughout the world. Dr. Michael E. DeBakey strongly advocated a role for the humanities in medical education and in the development of a full, enriching intellectual life.


1. Only original poetry on a medical subject and by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools is eligible.

2. Entrants must document enrollment in an accredited American medical school in pursuit of the M.D. degree by a copy of the student photograph I.D. card.

3. Each medical student may submit only one poem, not to exceed two pages.

4. Entries must be postmarked no later than Jan. 31, 2017.

5. Poems must be on a medical subject.

6. Poems must be:

    a. Original, not published or under consideration for publication,
        and not having previously received a poetry award.
    b. Limited to two (2) pages, double-spaced.
    c. In English; no translations from other languages.
    d. Printed on 8.5 x 11 inch bond paper.
    e. Accompanied by a cover page, with the following information:
        • Poet’s name
        • Current mailing and e-mailing addresses, telephone and fax numbers if available.
        • Copy of photographed student I.D. card documenting medical school enrollment.
    f. Submitted in six (6) hard (print) unstapled copies, as well as emailed
        to Christine Cummings (Christine.Cummings@bcm.edu).

7. Entries will not be acknowledged.

8. A distinguished panel of qualified judges will assess the poems.

9. Winners will be announced in July 2017.
    • The first-prize recipient will receive a cash prize of $1,000.00
    • The second-prize recipient will receive a cash prize of $500.00
    • The third-prize recipient will receive a cash prize of $250.00

10. The first-prize poem will become the property of the Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Awards program and will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication. If it is accepted for publication, the publisher will own copyright.

If you have any questions, contact Dipali Pathak at 713-798-4710 or pathak@bcm.edu.

Envelopes for submissions should be marked: For the Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Awards Program and sent to:

Dr. Neal R. Barshes
Chair, Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Awards
Assistant Professor, Division of Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy
Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery 

Baylor College of Medicine
BCM MS 500
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030