aboutus-debakey-atdesk (320x240)
Dr. Michael E. DeBakey DeBakey

Baylor College of Medicine has announced the winners of the 13th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award. They were chosen from original poems submitted by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools. This annual competition honors the legendary Dr. DeBakey, premier cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist and inventor, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, international medical statesman and impassioned humanitarian.

The winners are:

• First place cash prize of $1,000.00 – “If poems were bodies,” by Laya Charara, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
• Second place cash prize of $500.00 – “Ectopic,” by Mariam Gomaa, Wake Forest School of Medicine
• Third place cash prize of $250.00 – “Tired,” by Elizabeth Karin, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

The DeBakey Medical Foundation sponsors this program. The first-place poem will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication.