Dr. Xiang Zhang (320x240)
Dr. Xiang Zhang, McNair Scholar and assistant professor of molecular and cellular biology at Baylor College of Medicine.

Dr. Xiang Zhang, a McNair Scholar and Assistant Professor in the Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center at Baylor College of Medicine, has been awarded the Department of Defense’s 2015 Breast Cancer Research Program Era of Hope Scholar Award to further study metastatic breast cancer which is responsible for over 90 percent of breast cancer related death.

The Era of Hope Scholar Award supports individuals early in their careers who have demonstrated significant potential to effect meaningful change in breast cancer.

With the funding, Zhang and his colleagues will aim to overcome the challenge of eliminating microscopic metastases of breast cancer, so that distant recurrences and related deaths can be significantly reduced in the foreseeable future.

Zhang’s family has personally been impacted by breast cancer and he has committed his career to breast cancer research that will have a clinical impact.

“The Era of Hope Award is a great honor to me. It will allow me to assemble a multidisciplinary team including patient advocates, cancer biologists, biochemists, chemists, and biostatisticians, and launch a systemic investigation to identify new therapies that can selectively eliminate microscopic metastatic seeds in the bone,” Zhang said.

“Dr. Zhang is a very talented scientist who is poised to make a great impact in the fight against metastatic breast cancer. The entire Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center team is behind his efforts to take his scientific insights to our patients,” said Dr. Matthew Ellis, McNair Scholar and Director of the Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center at Baylor. “Zhang has demonstrated great leadership in the field by working collaboratively with other scientists and patient advocates. He oversees trainee programs and chairs an annual conference for Metastatic Breast Cancer.”

“We are tremendously proud of Dr. Zhang for receiving this highly competitive award,” said Dr. Kent Osborne, Director of the Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine.